Для работы WordPress рекомендуется хостинг, который поддерживает:

  • PHP версии 7 или выше
  • MySQL версии 5.6 или выше ЛИБО MariaDB версии 10.0 или выше
  • Протокол HTTPS

Это всё, что нужно. В качестве веб-сервера мы рекомендуем Apache или Nginx как наиболее надёжные и функциональные, но в общем случае подойдёт любой сервер с поддержкой PHP и MySQL. Стоит заметить, что мы не можем протестировать все возможные конфигурации, однако каждый хостинг-провайдер из рекомендованных нами без проблем поддерживает всё вышеперечисленное и многое другое.

Замечание: Если на вашем сервере доступны только старые версии PHP и MySQL, WordPress также работает на PHP 5.2.4+ и MySQL 5.0+, однако поддержка этих версий прекращена, и они могут стать угрозой безопасности вашего сайта.

Спросите у хостинг-провайдера

Вот пример письма, которое вы можете отправить своему хостинг-провайдеру:

Меня интересует веб-платформа с открытым исходным кодом WordPress <https://wordpress.org/>, и я хочу узнать, доступны ли на моём тарифе следующие опции:

  • PHP 7 или выше
  • MySQL 5.6 или выше
  • Модуль Apache mod_rewrite
  • Протокол HTTPS

Спасибо!

Не обязательно, но желательно для повышения безопасности

Хостинг считается более безопасным, когда PHP-приложения, такие как WordPress, запускаются от имени вашей собственной учётной записи, а не от стандартной учётной записи сервера. Спросите своего потенциального хостинг-провайдера, какие шаги они предприняли для обеспечения безопасности вашей учётной записи.

To run WordPress we recommend your host supports:

  • PHP version 5.6 or greater
  • MySQL version 5.5 or greater

That’s really it. We recommend Apache or Nginx as the most robust and featureful server for running WordPress, but any server that supports PHP and MySQL will do. That said, we can’t test every possible environment and each of the hosts on our hosting page supports the above and more with no problems.

Note: If you are in a legacy environment where you only have older PHP or MySQL versions, WordPress also works with PHP 5.2.4+ and MySQL 5.0+, but these versions have reached official End Of Life and as such may expose your site to security vulnerabilities.

Ask for it

Here’s a letter you can send to your host; copy and paste!

I'm interested in running the open-source WordPress <https://wordpress.org/> blogging software and I was wondering if my account supported the following:

  • PHP 5.6 or greater
  • MySQL 5.5 or greater
  • The mod_rewrite Apache module


Not required, but recommended for better security

Hosting is more secure when PHP applications, like WordPress, are run using your account’s username instead of the server’s default shared username. The most common way nowadays for hosting companies to do this is using suPHP. Just ask your potential host if they run suPHP or something similar.

Why do we support older versions?

We strongly recommend the latest versions of PHP and MySQL, but we understand that this isn’t right for everyone, and that sometimes hosts can be slow or hesitant to upgrade their customers since upgrades to PHP and MySQL have historically broken applications.

WordPress will always work on the latest versions of PHP and MySQL, which are often faster and more stable.