This plugin hasn’t been updated in over 2 years. It may no longer be maintained or supported and may have compatibility issues when used with more recent versions of WordPress.

This plugin has been closed and is no longer available for download.



Audio allows you to use simple functions in your theme to display audio you have attached to Posts/Pages/Custom Post Types in your Media Library. Your player is styled 100% with CSS/images (if you want). Your audio player uses your browser’s native HTML5 capabilities when available with a fallback to Flash when necessary. Allows you to play audio inline on mobile browsers that support HTML5 Audio (heeeey, WebKit!)

You can use this shortcode [audio] or the_audio() in your theme to output your item’s attachments.

Read More here:

Contributors & Developers

“Audio” is open source software. The following people have contributed to this plugin.


Translate “Audio” into your language.

Interested in development?

Browse the code, check out the SVN repository, or subscribe to the development log by RSS.



  • fixes shortcode


  • rewrite of tons of code
  • ditched ID3 inspector
  • updated jPlayer to 2.1.0


  • updates jPlayer to version 2.0
  • fixed all of the PHP4 static-like method references in the getID3 library so a tornado of Errors/Notices won’t be thrown in the error logs, especially when error settings are error_reporting(-1)


  • in lieu of handling malformed filenames, all filenames will be Base64-encoded in the enclosure portion of the hAudio markup. Users no longer have the option of setting A_SECURE. I also cleaned up some redundant code.


  • Changed the boilerplate player markup to support any number of players on a page.
  • When multiple players are present, playing one will pause all others
  • Moved markup generation to JavaScript to support dynamic ID generation/management


  • Added support for Ogg Vorbis – supports both when used with Shuffle


  • Only loads ID3 tag class when not loaded by other plugin, scripts and styles loaded automatically


  • Initial release