Plugin Reviews

Admin Block Country

Block access to your admin pages by country.

18 reviews
Average Rating
3.9 out of 5 stars
Do not block countries
By , for WP 4.3.1

Plugin does not seem to work at all. Wordfence reports several failed logins from many foreign countries even though local IP database is uploaded, backup external IP is set and all foreign countries are blocked.

Wordfence live traffic login and logouts reports messages like this still after activation of Admin Block Country plugin:

Dipolog City, Philippines attempted a failed login as "****".
IP: [block]
26.9.2015 16.51.19 (42 minutes ago)

Italy Rome, Italy attempted a failed login as "****".
IP: [block]
Hostname: 93-41-179-181.ip82.fastwebnet.it
26.9.2015 15.40.52 (1 hour 53 mins ago)

Egypt Giza, Egypt attempted a failed login as "****".
IP: [block]
Hostname: host-
26.9.2015 15.35.33 (1 hour 58 mins ago)

Turkey Ankara, Turkey attempted a failed login as "****".
IP: [block]
26.9.2015 15.31.49 (2 hours 2 mins ago)

Serbia Belgrade, Serbia attempted a failed login as "****".
IP: [block]
Hostname: 178-222-170-95.dynamic.isp.telekom.rs
26.9.2015 14.32.22 (3 hours 1 min ago)

Argentina Ezpeleta, Argentina attempted a failed login as "****".
IP: [block]
Hostname: 207-130-137-186.fibertel.com.ar
26.9.2015 14.02.15 (3 hours 31 mins ago)

Works fine with Wordfence and Wp 4.3.1
By , for WP 4.3.1

Seems to be very good and no slowing down of the sites tested.

Don't forget to install the datafile first as per the instructions!

By , for WP 4.2.2

I was getting attempted Admin logins from Countries all over the world. Africa, Mexico, Russia, Brazil, Indonesia, Serbia, you name it. Dozens and dozens. About 1 every minute.

Installed the plugin and didn't notice a difference. Turns out I didn't set it up properly. At the top of the settings page you have to click on a link to download a file and then upload it. Easy to do, I just missed it at first. As soon as I did this and chose every Country except U.S. and Canada and every login attempt was blocked. Amazing!

Easy as
By ,

love the support to upload the dat file

didn't work for me
By , for WP 4.0

I can't tell that it does anything on the 3 sites I'm trying it out on. I still get constant notifications from Wordfence about attempted admin logins from China and other blocked countries. Will be uninstalling now.

Simple to use
By , for WP 6.0

I did block all countries except my. It is working perfect.

Silently does it's job
By , for WP 3.9.2

I'm using several Security and login attempt monitors - I was getting lots of hits (attacks) from Ukraine, Russia and UAE.

Installed this plugin as well. Instantly noticeable drop in attacks. Excellent.

Simple... and seems to work without a hitch
By , for WP 3.9.1


A very simple plugin that just does what it's supposed to do.

What more can anyone ask for?

~ Louie

No good
By , for WP 3.9.1

Does not work, used Chinese proxy to access my site.

Blocked my access
By , for WP 3.5.2

I had the same problem as azlivin008. Blocked access to entire admin area until I deleted plugin folder via FTP.

You must log in to submit a review. You can also log in or register using the form near the top of this page.