Forum Replies Created

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 2,152 total)
  • Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @albertkents,

    Thanks for using the plugin! And for being our first ever official support request for it here on the forums 🙂

    The plugin is currently only able to display a feed from a YouTube channel and not a specific playlist. We’re discussing this to see whether it’s something we can add in the future though. We are currently working on a Pro version of the plugin (to allow us to continue supporting this plugin on an ongoing basis) and this is something we may add into that version. Are there any other features you’d like to see added into the plugin in the future?

    Thanks for the question and I hope you’re having a great Friday!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @melhormarketing,

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We try to make this clear in advance near the top of the plugin description so that we don’t waste your time (screenshot). While we wish we could offer every feature for free, we unfortunately have to reserve some features for the Pro version to allow us to continue providing free support and updates to this free plugin on an ongoing basis.

    Facebook make constant changes to their platform and so it’s a lot of work and cost for us to keep up with both the code changes required and the technical support that comes with it. If we weren’t able to offer a Pro version then we would unfortunately would have had to abandon the plugin by now.

    Thanks again for your feedback.

    Many thanks,

    John

    ———-

    Hola @melhormarketing,

    Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para dejar un comentario. Intentamos aclarar esto de antemano cerca de la parte superior de la descripción del complemento para no perder su tiempo ( captura de pantalla ). Si bien deseamos poder ofrecer todas las funciones de forma gratuita, desafortunadamente tenemos que reservar algunas funciones para la versión Pro para permitirnos continuar brindando soporte y actualizaciones gratuitas a este complemento gratuito de forma continua.

    Facebook realiza cambios constantes en su plataforma y, por lo tanto, es mucho trabajo y costo para nosotros mantenernos al día tanto con los cambios de código requeridos como con el soporte técnico que viene con ellos. Si no pudiéramos ofrecer una versión Pro, desafortunadamente ya habríamos tenido que abandonar el complemento.

    Gracias de nuevo por sus comentarios.

    Muchas gracias,

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @nwenn,

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review – we’ll definitely take your feedback on board. Sorry to hear the plugin wasn’t a good fit for you. We try to make clear near the top of the plugin description that this free plugin is not able to display photos and videos from your Facebook posts (screenshot), and that we offer a Pro version with that added functionality. While we wish we could offer every feature for free, we unfortunately have to reserve some features for the Pro version to allow us to continue providing free support and updates to this free plugin on an ongoing basis.

    Facebook make a lot of constant changes to their platform and so as you can imagine it’s a lot of work and cost for us to keep up with both the code changes required and the technical support that comes with it. If we weren’t able to offer a Pro version then we would unfortunately would have had to abandon the plugin by now.

    Thanks again for your feedback, and if you have any questions at all then please just let me know and I’d be happy to answer.

    I hope you’re having a good Friday!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    @bcmystery – no problem, please let us know when you have a chance to test it. We also pushed out a minor update today with a bug fix in it and it’s possible that it may resolve your issue.

    I hope you enjoy your trip!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @bcmystery,

    Thanks for your review – we really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback as it helps us continue to improve the plugin. I’m really sorry to hear about the issue, we pride ourselves on creating reliable and dependable plugins but as every environment is different we do occasionally run into an issue like this.

    Would you be willing to allow us to help troubleshoot the problem for you? There are only two ways the images in the plugin are loaded; either directly from Instagram or from a local copy stored in WordPress. Would you be able to go to the following setting: Instagram Feed > Customize > Misc > Image Resizing, and make sure the “Disable Local Image Storing and Resizing” setting is unchecked.

    If it was already unchecked, or this doesn’t make a difference, then would you be able to provide a link to the page on your website where you’re displaying the feed so that we can take a look first hand? We should be able to diagnose the problem and provide a solution if we’re able to see the issue first hand.

    Thanks again for your feedback, and hopefully we can get this resolved for you right away so that you can continue using the plugin.

    John

    Sure, I’ve submitted a support ticket at that link.

    Thanks!

    @stanleylitespeed, @lclarke – thanks for your responses. Sorry for the delayed response on my part – due to the Thanksgiving holiday I wasn’t available to test this until now. After enabling the “Disable All Features” setting the issue no longer occurs. Please let me know the next steps I can take to troubleshoot this.

    Many thanks,

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @mikealan,

    I just wanted to follow up to let you know this should be fixed in the latest update. I’ll close this thread for now, but if you have any other issues related to the Pro version then just submit a ticket at the link in my previous post and we’d be happy to help!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @mikealan,

    This seems to be related to the Pro version of our plugin. We’re only allowed to support free plugins here on WordPress.org but if you’re able to submit a support ticket on our website along with this information and your “System Info” from inside the plugin then we can figure out what’s going wrong here.

    Many thanks, and I hope you’re having a good day!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @redlid,

    I apologize for any inconvenience. We try to make it clear right at the beginning of the plugin description that this free plugin allows you to display text and links from Facebook posts but the Pro version is required to display photos and videos (please see this screenshot). We try to make this obvious upfront to avoid wasting anyone’s time who requires those features.

    Due to the amount of time required to support and maintain a plugin based on the ever-changing Facebook platform we have to offer a Pro version and reserve some features for that, otherwise we unfortunately wouldn’t be able to dedicate the time and effort required to supporting and keeping this free plugin up to date.

    I apologize again for any inconvenience!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @pcdude,

    Sorry to hear you had an issue. We pride ourselves on being a quick and easy plugin to set up – just log into Facebook and paste the [custom-facebook-feed] shortcode on your page to display the feed – but it sounds like something went wrong here. If you had an issue and no feed displayed then this could be for a few different reasons, we have an FAQ here with common issues, or I would be more than happy to help resolve the problem for you if you can provide some further info. We work hard to provide fast and effective support to all of the users of this free plugin in order to make their experience as painless as possible.

    If you’d like to give the plugin another try and need help then just let me know and I can personally assist you.

    I hope you’re having a good start to your week.

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @rcroes,

    Thanks for your interest in the plugin, we appreciate it! I’m afraid we don’t have a trial for the Pro version. The free version here on WordPress.org is built in the same way but doesn’t include the additional features in the Pro version, but can still be used for testing in your website environment. We also have a demo of the Pro version here where you can enter your own Facebook Page ID to see it in the plugin. In addition, we have a 30 day money back guarantee on our Pro version if it isn’t a good fit for you.

    If you have any follow up questions about the Pro version then please reach out to us on our website here as it’s against the forum rules for us to discuss paid products here on WordPress.org.

    Many thanks!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @wpdezinr01,

    I apologize for any inconvenience. We try to make it clear right at the beginning of the plugin description that this free plugin allows you to display text and links from Facebook posts but the Pro version is required to display photos and videos (please see this screenshot). We try to make this obvious upfront to avoid the issue you mentioned.

    Due to the amount of time required to support and maintain a plugin based on the ever-changing Facebook platform we have to offer a Pro version and reserve some features for that, otherwise we unfortunately wouldn’t be able to dedicate the time and effort required to supporting and keeping this free plugin up to date.

    I apologize again for any inconvenience, just let me know if you have any other feedback at all!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi @lialialit – just an update to let you know that we’ve now added this information to the first section of the plugin description so that it’s very obvious to new users (screenshot). Thanks again for bringing this to our attention, we really appreciate your feedback.

    If you have any other feedback or issues at all in future then just let me know, and I hope you’re having a good week!

    John

    Plugin Author smashballoon

    (@smashballoon)

    Hi Alex,

    Sorry for the delayed response here – we’ll get the translation files updated ASAP for the new version. Apologies for any inconvenience here!

    John

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 2,152 total)