WordPress.org

Forums

wp-admin/edit.php leads to blank page not All Posts (30 posts)

  1. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    We are using WordPress 3.8.1 at Shopsos.com

    THE SYMPTOMS: From the Admin dashboard Posts: All Posts (wp-admin/edit.php) returns a blank page. Additionally, Posts: Categories returns a Categories page with no categories listed (although the number of categories for the site are enumerated at the top of the page with many pages of categories). One of the plugins settings pages also returns a blank page. Pages also returned a blank page, but that part is resolved.

    WHAT I'VE DONE: First I disabled all of the plugins. Two plugins upon deactivation returned the function of displaying Pages. But deactivating all of the plugins resulted in no change for the page display of posts, nor categories. The posts are therefore available from the front end, but not the dashboard.

    I reinstalled wordpress. Then, out of frustration also replaced the wp-includes folder as well as the wp-admin folder with fresh folders from a new download of wordpress.

    Last, I restored from a Vaultpress backup.

    The theme is Pagelines (Pro version).

    I simply don't know what to do next to get this working again. Thanks in advance for assistance.

  2. vrazer
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    The white page you're describing is usually the sign of a PHP error occurring on your site. Are you familiar with how to view the error logs on your site? Depending on the host, sometimes the error logs are only available when you log into your host's control panel. Other times with cPanel sites, you can just look for a file called error_log at the root of the website.

    If you see any errors in there (particularly those that refer to the edit.php file you just mentioned), if you share those here, it will really help the volunteers here to help you.

  3. Scott Fennell
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Have you tried switching themes and disabling all plugins?

  4. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Not familiar, but reading the Codex pointed me to enabling Debug in the config file, which I have done. I'm reading the debug log this morning.

    Yes, I disabled all of the plugins (more than once) and at least one problem was identified as being caused by a particular plugin.

    I have not tried switching themes because this is one of those cases where this is the theme that the client desires. That will be a last resort, but thanks so much for the reminder that a theme update could create conflicts as well.

    The Debug log is pointing to two plugins that are throwing most of the error messages. But then there is reporting regarding functions.php in the wp-includes folder. Not sure what that is about.

    Here are the strings about function.php:
    [25-Feb-2014 03:45:56] PHP Notice: is_home was called incorrectly. Conditional query tags do not work before the query is run. Before then, they always return false. Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 3.1.) in /var/www/vhosts/ShopSOS.com/httpdocs/wp-includes/functions.php on line 3049
    [25-Feb-2014 03:45:56] PHP Notice: is_front_page was called incorrectly. Conditional query tags do not work before the query is run. Before then, they always return false. Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 3.1.) in /var/www/vhosts/ShopSOS.com/httpdocs/wp-includes/functions.php on line 3049
    [25-Feb-2014 03:45:56] PHP Notice: is_feed was called incorrectly. Conditional query tags do not work before the query is run. Before then, they always return false. Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 3.1.) in /var/www/vhosts/ShopSOS.com/httpdocs/wp-includes/functions.php on line 3049

    Helping to understand what these particular returns from debug would be most helpful at this point. Thanks.

  5. Scott Fennell
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Enabling debug was a good step, nice work.

    Switching themes doesn't have to be permanent, it can just be seen as a temporary debugging step so you can determine if it's part of the problem.

    The debug messages that reference core files such as wp-includes are 99.9% sure being triggered by your plugins or theme -- they're not core bugs even though it kind of reads like that in the debug message.

    A codex search for any of those terms (is_feed(), etc) will give you a sense of what they mean, though that's more just to satisfy you're curiosity. You're only going to fix this in one of two ways:

    1) Switch themes and disable plugins.

    2) Continue debugging until you find the code that breaking your site and fix the code.

    If you're not up for #2, you might as well go to #1.

  6. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thanks. That helps me to understand the message re: functions.php. I'm going to continue on the path of removing plugins. I will also double back on the theme (Pagelines Pro) to be sure that the most recent version is installed and if there are still issues then switch themes. I so appreciate the time people take to help in these situations. Not fixed yet, but these suggestions offer hope!

  7. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Got rid of several plugins which removed many lines of debugging errors.

    Now I'm down to 2: Here is the first error listing the plugin file. Following that is code from the plugin that I "think" is the right section of the file:

    Debug reported:
    [25-Feb-2014 17:06:30] PHP Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_ACCEPT in /var/www/vhosts/ShopSOS.com/httpdocs/wp-content/plugins/wpmbytplayer/mbYTPlayer.php on line 21

    From the plugin php file:

    '
    function isMobile()
    {
    // Check the server headers to see if they're mobile friendly
    if (isset($_SERVER["HTTP_X_WAP_PROFILE"])) {
    return true;
    }
    // If the http_accept header supports wap then it's a mobile too
    if (preg_match("/wap.|.wap/i", $_SERVER["HTTP_ACCEPT"])) {
    return true;
    }
    if (preg_match("/iphone|ipad/i", $_SERVER["HTTP_USER_AGENT"])) {
    return true;
    }
    // None of the above? Then it's probably not a mobile device.
    return false;
    }
    '
    I ran it through a validator, but I'm not sure what needs to be fixed.

  8. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Still have issues at Shopsos.com

    Taking the next step, I tried to change themes from Pagelines Framework 2.44. When I activated the alternate theme, the site completely disappeared. All white. Could not log in to admin, the website itself would not load. So I manually restored a backup, because Vaultpress needs a working wordpress installation to restore a backup.

    What I've done:
    1. Used debug to identify errors
    2. Disabled all plugins
    3. Deleted plugins that showed errors in debug
    4. Optimized and repaired the database Myphp Admin at the host.
    5. Reset permalinks
    6. I've also placed new wp-admin and wp-includes folders.

    The general problem that I'm trying to fix is that edit.php does not load All Posts from the dashboard. It leads to a white screen.

    I have not been able to change the theme to see if it is the problem and I'm not sure how I would do that since changing the theme destroys the website and dashboard.

    Would it be possible to reinstall the theme on the back end with an upload?

    I'm sure I'm missing something. Just don't know what I'm missing. All I can think to do now, is to repeat what I've already done to see if I've missed something. Any other ideas or approaches would be most appreciated. Thanks.

  9. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    At present, no errors are reported in the debug log. Still have the same problem of edit.php not loading (view All Posts).

  10. Scott Fennell
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    what theme did you switch to? did you try a bundled theme such as twentythirteen?

    Did you enable debug mode in wp-config to show debug messages in the browser? that's not appropriate for live sites but can sometimes be more intuitive than a debug log.

  11. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I chose another Pagelines related theme. Now, after spending hours manually restoring the site because it crashed my installation, I'm a little paranoid about changing themes. I am suspecting that there may be a problem with the theme, however, since there are no errors being logged but I still have the same problem. I have requested assistance at Pagelines.

    I did not enable debug node to show messages in the browser. Rather I used the example in the Codex which hides the browser results, but logs the errors to the debug.log file; i.e. "The following code, inserted in your wp-config.php file, will log all errors notices and warnings to a file called debug.log in the wp-content directory. It will also hide the errors so they do not interrupt page generation."

    So your suggestion is to enable debug in the config file allowing the errors to be created live on-site. I can do that. And will. Thanks.

  12. Scott Fennell
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    (deleted- too many windows open)

  13. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I set the display section of the debug code this way:
    '
    'WP_DEBUG_DISPLAY', true
    '

    I didn't see anything on the site from loading site pages, nor from the dashboard (e.g. loading edit.php) (shopshos.com)

  14. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I did get an error message in the log file, however, that I had seen before:

    Undefined index: HTTP_ACCEPT in /var/www/vhosts/ShopSOS.com/httpdocs/wp-content/plugins/wpmbytplayer/mbYTPlayer.php on line 21

  15. Scott Fennell
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    If you're still getting error messages from plugins, then you still have plugins running. You should remove all plugins as a temporary debugging step.

  16. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hurrah. I got an error message when I went to edit.php

    This was displayed in the browser window:

    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 524288 bytes) in /var/www/vhosts/ShopSOS.com/httpdocs/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1242

    I think that is the first time I was excited about getting an error message! OK if its a memory allocation problem can you help me with this, or point me to some information?

  17. esmi
    Forum Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

  18. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Scott, yes, when I reinstalled everything, there were some plugins I failed to disable. Thanks for the reminder.

    You also wrote: If you look at your source code, in <head>, you can see that SOMETHING is redirecting your feed. It might be worth looking in the database for anything related to 'feedburner'.
    Do you run phpmyadmin?

    Yes, I am familiar with phpmyadmin at my host. I actually dropped a couple of tables this morning that were left over from a plugin that I deleted.

    I believe that the feeds for this site are managed by Feedblitz.

  19. Scott Fennell
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Sorry, I started babbling about your RSS feed because I had too many windows open. Comment deleted, please disregard, was not meant for this thread.

  20. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thanks for the clarification, Scott. And thanks for the link esmi.

    I manually set the Php memory at my host to 64MB. Now I should include the following in my wp-config.php file?
    'define('WP_MEMORY_LIMIT', '64M');
    '

    Then be sure that all of the plugins are disabled and see if the problem goes away?

  21. esmi
    Forum Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Now I should include the following in my wp-config.php file?
    'define('WP_MEMORY_LIMIT', '64M');

    No. Not if you were able to increase PHP memory via your php.ini file. The steps given in that post are intended to be "either/or". :-)

  22. esmi
    Forum Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Actually 64M isn't going to be enough. Based on your error message, you're running out of memory when you have 256M allocated. Try upping it to 512M.

  23. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    OK, I set the memory allocation for PHP to 512M; thanks esmi

  24. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    With all of the plugins deactivated I tried to delete a post by coming in through the front. I was able to get a post to come into the edit screen (without any text to edit in the edit window, however)

    When I made a request to move it into the trash, got this error message:

    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 76 bytes) in /var/www/vhosts/ShopSOS.com/httpdocs/wp-includes/cache.php on line 570

    I've allocated 512M memory for php at the Host. I'm not sure where to go next.

  25. Scott Fennell
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Changing themes to a bundled theme such as twentythirteen is one of the most basic debugging steps and it sounds like you still haven't done that. If you can't do it through the UI, just remove all your themes via ftp, leaving only a fresh copy of twentythirteen.

  26. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Right. I still haven't done that. Thanks for the encouragement. Last time I tried changing the theme at this website, I had to restore the site manually because that action broke everything. So I have been working through everything else first to be sure the settings are ok over at the host (opened a ticket); Got the info I needed to restore this pro theme once it is deleted. So yes, since there seems to be nothing else I can do, I should be sure I have a valid backup and then switch themes to thewtythirteen. Thanks for your persistence Scott.

  27. kmessinger
    Forum Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I have not been able to change the theme to see if it is the problem and I'm not sure how I would do that since changing the theme destroys the website and dashboard.

    Would it be possible to reinstall the theme on the back end with an upload?

    Changing a theme should not destroy anything. If you changed the theme by renaming it then with ftp or the file manager provided by your host, you can name it back to the original. Same if you deleted it - you can add it back.

  28. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Yes, it is possible, according to the Pagelines team. But first I have to try to change to twenty thirteen. It may blow the site apart again, but as part of the process I would be replacing the old theme with a new download via ftp. I'm hesitant because of the work involved restoring manually, but I'm still going to try: making sure all plugins are deactivated, changing the theme, then via ftp deleting the old theme and uploading a new copy; then hopefully being able to reactivate from my dashboard if I can get to it. If not, then I will have to restore manually and start over again. I realize that changing a theme should not destroy anything. But what happened was the dashboard disappeared and the wordpress installation became non-functioning (e.g. Vaultpress could not restore my backup because the installation was not working). Thank you. And with everyone's help I this site will be fixed! I just checked with the Host and memory settings are ok.

  29. kmessinger
    Forum Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Yes, it is possible, according to the Pagelines team.

    Who ever said that is incorrect. All of your data is stored in the database. As long as that is there, you have a site that just needs a theme.

    It may blow the site apart again

    Not sure what you mean there. Changing a theme will not delete the wordpress files. The only thing that could happen is changes you made to your theme might be gone if you did not use a child theme to make those changes.

    Vaultpress could not restore my backup because the installation was not working

    That kinda ruins the reason for having a backup and does not make sense.

    then via ftp deleting the old theme and uploading a new copy

    You shouldn't have to do this if you just rename the theme.

    In the dashboard, go to users/all users and see what role you have.

  30. greenreflection
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    1. Ok I am mistaken about the backend install. Their recommendation from Pagelines was from the dashboard. My error.
    2. When I tried to change themes during this debugging process I chose a different theme and doing so made the site unworkable. No dashboard, no site, no ability to login. Thus I've been doing everything EXCEPT changing the theme to see if there were other issues first.
    3. Vaultpress can only restore a backup if you have a working wordpress installation. Otherwise you have to download the backup from Vaultpress and do a manual restore.
    4. The role is administrator.

    Thanks for your comments. Its all good. Still not fixed. But I'm going to try to install a new version of the theme. I will attempt to change the theme to twenty thirteen and then attempt to install a fresh download of the Pagelines theme. It may blow up again when I try to change the theme, but if so, I will manually restore again from a backup.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic