WordPress.org

Forums

WOW Slider
[resolved] WOW slider not showing up on page (28 posts)

  1. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hi there!

    I bought WOW slider, made my slideshow, exported for WordPress, FTP-ed it to the plugins directory, activated it and pasted the short code on the home page of the test site i'm building - but it's not showing up on the page. In WP dashboard i can see my images. Please can you let me know what I'm doing wrong? I'm rather new to WP and this is my first WOW slider.

    Thanks so much!

    http://caracarina.com/LMI/wordpress/?page_id=40

    http://wordpress.org/plugins/wowslider/

  2. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    I have just checked your page:
    http://caracarina.com/LMI/wordpress/?page_id=40

    and found that only "style.css" file from WOWSlider was added.

    It can be caused by the conflict with theme or plugin. So, please try to use the default theme and temporarily disable your plugins.

  3. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thank you for your reply. I've just activated Twenty Thirteen, and the only active plugin I have is WOW slider. Still nothing.

  4. @caracarina please excuse me as I go off topic for a minute.

    I bought WOW slider

    @WOWSlider.com You really, really, REALLY need to provide your paying customers a place to get support that is not on these forums.

    These forums are not for providing support of commercial products.

    http://codex.wordpress.org/Forum_Welcome#Commercial_Products

    Until you do that then you are doing your customers a disservice and you are skirting the forum welcome.

    @caracarina? I now return this topic to you and hope you get the support from WOWslider.com that you paid for. ;)

  5. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    Jan,

    Actually, we provide customer support via email. But if customer makes comments here, we couldn't leave them without reply.

  6. @caracarina Sorry, I'm still off topic but I'll be brief I promise. ;)

    Actually, we provide customer support via email. But if customer makes comments here, we couldn't leave them without reply.

    That's good to know. In the future could you please direct your customers to your site for support via a link? http://wowslider.com/faq.html where you have posted that email address would be good.

    @caracarina Back to your support topic again.

  7. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    caracarina,

    * What WordPress version do you use?
    * Do you use wordpress.org or wordpress.com? Notice that we developed the plugin for wordpress.org and tested it with wordpress.org only.
    * Did you add WOWSlider shortcode into post/page? Did you try to add WOWSlider php code into theme or widget?

  8. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hallo,

    WP version 3.6.
    I'm not sure if it's .org or .com? Where can I check that?
    I did add the short code in, yes.
    No did not try adding php in a widget - not sure how to do that and I followed the super easy installation instructions on your site, which had nothing about that.

  9. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    WOWSlider plugin should work correctly with WordPress v.3.6.

    Video tutorial on our website shows how to add a shortcode, but below at the same page you can find FAQ. The first and the second questions are about WOWSlider PHP code:
    http://wowslider.com/wordpress-jquery-slider.html#FAQ

    If problem will persist, please send us your module "wowslider.zip", so we can check it.

  10. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hi,

    I actually looked at that widget recommended in your FAQ yesterday but it says on the page that the widget is not supported anymore, has not been updated for 2 years and may not work properly anymore. Any other suggestions for a PHP widget?

    I really was hoping that it would just be as easy an installation as it is claimed on your sites and that I was just doing something silly. So many hours wasted already :(

    In the meantime I have received an answer from the mail sent to your support people yesterday, I will see what it says there, thanks.

  11. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    OK I downloaded: http://wordpress.org/plugins/php-text-widget/
    uploaded via FTP. activated it. created a text widget and pasted in the PHP as you suggested. Nothing.

  12. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Very very very disappointing show from wow slider. Not so wow at all. It's been a week to try and get the slider working on my site. The e-mail support has been entirely unhelpful. Wow slider claims to be super-easy to install on Worpress, but on this forum I am advised to install a PHP widget that is 2 years out of date - I tried another widget and that didn't work either. Support tells me to install a network - honestly! All I want is to get the simplest of slideshows: 5 images cross fading with absolutely nothing special - to work on my home page and it has become a quest parallel to finding the holy grail. Can somebody please provide some useful information on how to get this slider working??? Please??? At this point I feel that I may as well have thrown the $99 it cost for this slider out the window. :(

  13. caracarina? I'm very sorry that you are having problems with that plugin but please take this conversation directly to the plugin author directly as I suggested earlier 5 days ago.

    It's likely the best way to get the commercial support that you paid for when you purchased that software from them.

    Wowslider.com? Please confirm that you're taking this conversation directly to your customer and I'll close this topic.

  14. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Jan I have been emailing directly with them too - the reason why I opened this forum is because the response time was so slow. In the meantime the support from them has been slow and unhelpful - hence me trying here again. I find it worrying that the PHP widget suggested here carries a warning that it has not been updated for over 2 years and may therefore not function properly anymore and is not supported.

    Maybe you can help me with something...? Apparently the reason why it is not working is because I am using "multi-site mode with sub-directories" and I need to change that. I am very new to WordPress so this is news to me, I've googled where to change this but cannot seem to find an answer - do you know where I can change that, and to what setting?

  15. the reason why I opened this forum is because the response time was so slow.

    I'm really sorry to hear that honest. But it's really important that plugin or theme authors do not use these free forums to support their paid customers.

    When those authors do use these forums for that support that's not fair to the customer (that'd be you in this case) and it's not fair to the other authors who are playing by the rules.

    As it's been said before: commercial products are not supported in these forums.

    This plugin is an odd case and I am not sure exactly what you are paying for when you make a purchase from this author. Hopefully they'll chime in.

    Again I'm really sorry that you are in this position and are having these problems.

    Apparently the reason why it is not working is because I am using "multi-site mode with sub-directories" and I need to change that.

    I would hold off on making a change like that. Switching your installation from one type of multisite to another is a huge architectural change and should not be done lightly. Especially if there are other sites in your network and you want to keep those working.

    Short version: if you make that change it might break your multisite installation and I'm not sure how to fix it after that. I do want you to have that slider working but I also do not want make your situation worse or even more complicated.

    Let's see if the plugin author replies. As I understand it a multisite sub-directory installation shouldn't look much different than installing WordPress in a sub-directory from a plugin point of view. But I don't use that plugin so I may be unaware of what the issues are.

  16. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thank you for your reply Jan, and the sympathy :P
    It really is very disappointing, this experience with Wow slider. And in the meantime there is a very patient client waiting for his site, how long his patience will hold out is another question...

    In regards to the multi-site thing - I never intended it to be a multi-site - really this is the simplest of simple web sites, nothing fancy, no need for networking other sites or anything - just one single site for a smallish company missing one simple slide show to be completed. I am very new to WordPress and had no idea about any of this until it was sited as the reason why the slider isn't working.

    Sigh.

    Again, thank you for your moral support :P I await a response from Wow slider.

  17. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    1) We provide support via email. In most cases you'll get a reply within 1 business day. This is the usual time for the most of the companies. Also, this information was added many times on our website.

    2) WOWSlider Free version is available on our website and everyone can download and try it before purchasing. Free version provides all features and options of purchased version except "watermark" option.

    3)Our developers have simplified the work of WOWSlider plugin in the multi-site mode. Please use the latest version of plugin 4.0 and the latest version of WOWSlider 4.8. Now it's possible to activate it for network. Notice that you should have super admin rights to do it.

  18. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I have the paid version.
    I have no need for multisite installation. Just one slideshow on one page - if I could get that working i would be your happiest client in the world.
    E-mail response time is more like 3+ days - and so far I've been told twice to watch the video again - which I did first of all and it didn't work - hence me requesting support. Since my last email to support providing detailed info on how i tried to install with screenshots, I have been waiting three days.

  19. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    You use multi-site mode with subfolders. It doesn't matter how many slider you'll install and how many pages you use.

    Did you try the latest versions of plugin and software?

  20. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Ah. so I got a reply from support, after waiting for more than three days.

    To remind you: I have requested support because my slider is not working.
    One site. One home page.
    NO MULTISITES, NO SUBFOLDERS - honestly, the setup cannot be simpler: a home page with an image slider crossfading 5 images, nothing more than taht:

    This, after the previous two support mails just told me to watch the video AGAIN, which did not WORK IN MY SITUATION, this is the answer, after waiting 3+ days:

    "Hi Carin,

    The latest version 4.8 of WOWSlider app. and the latest version of plugin 4.0 were
    released. The latest versions provide multi-site mode support.

    Please try them."

    Seriously, it like talking to a brick wall. Can somebody please provide some decent support??????

    Or else, please refund me my $99 so I can go spend it somewhere where i can get a slideshow up on my client's website?!?!?!!?

  21. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    Actually, we're really trying to help you... But you couldn't answer the simple questions and we asked you to try the latest version of plugin 6(!!!) times... How can we help you in this situation? Please follow our instructions and answer our questions. We couldn't guess the reason of problem, if you don't provide us required information and couldn't fix the problem, if you'll not even try to use changes that our team makes especially for you.

    You ALREADY USE multi-site mode. It DOESN'T MATTER how many sliders you installed and how many pages you use. The main thing that caused the problem is multi-site mode you use.

    Please read the following text:

    Types of multisite network
    ...
    The sites in a network have different URLs. You can choose one of two ways for the URL to specify the site:

    * Each site has a different domain. For example: example1.com, example2.com, site1.example.com, site2.example.com.
    * Each site has a different path. For example: example.com/site1, example.com/site2

    You can find the full article here:
    http://codex.wordpress.org/Before_You_Create_A_Network#Types_of_multisite_network

    Do you think that "example.com/site1" and "http://caracarina.com/LMI/" are not the same? Actually, "LMI" is a sub-folder in your multi-site mode.

    Please make sure that you have SUPER ADMIN rights. Unfortunately, it's impossible to use WOWSlider plugin in multi-site mode without these rights. Please contact with super admin of your website or install WOWSlider slideshow manually.

  22. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I am not sure which simple questions you are referring to that you claim i could not answer. In my mind I have been very clear and have sent links and screenshots as per request to illustrate my problem.
    I have updated my WordPress and WOW slider as per support's request and it still doesn't work.

  23. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Do you think that "example.com/site1" and "http://caracarina.com/LMI/" are not the same? Actually, "LMI" is a sub-folder in your multi-site mode.

    This is incorrect. caracarina.com is a static HTML site. Nothing to do with WordPress and multisites. Caracarina.com/LMI/wordpress is a test site which will later be moved to another URL - once i get the slideshow working and get the site signed off. So there is one WordPress site on the server.

  24. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    Did you install WordPress into LMI folder on your server? If so, it's a very strange behaviour. We installed WordPress into the root folder and into subfolders and no problem appears. Other users didn't report about such problem too. There was a similar problem with multi-site mode. So, we supposed that you use this mode.
    Please give as the access to your WordPress and we'll try to install WOWSlider. You can send us this info via email. It'll not be shared, and you can change the password after that.
    Thanks for your patience.

  25. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Yes I installed WordPress into a subfolder - it is a test site, as soon as I get the slideshow working I will be moving the site to its proper URL.

    I am very happy that we have finally cleared up that I don't use multisite - I feel that we can start making progress now. I am mailing login details for the site to you now - thank you for your help.

  26. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    –°aracarina,

    We got your information and fixed the problem. Please check your email.

  27. caracarina
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Yay everything works now! We experienced some teething problems but it is all sorted out now. Seems to me the problem was caused by FTP-ing the plugin to the server versus uploading it through WP dashboard - because as soon as I sorted the file permissions so I could upload and update Wowslider from the dashboard, everything worked effortlessly.

    Thank you for helping to sort out the problem!

  28. WOWSlider.com
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    This is great news! Congratulations!

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Plugin

  • WOW Slider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Support Threads
  • Reviews

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.