WordPress.com stats question. (3 posts)

  1. echoca
    Posted 8 years ago #

    When I'm looking at the site stats from the dashboard, in the incoming links section there is a link to "a" blogspot.com hosted blog. If I follow this link it goes to the page then promptly redirects to some site that tries to / wants to / or just looks like a virus scan. At the same time it tries to download the good old downloader virus.

    This is why I have not included the link or name of the blogspot users site. If you want it let me know I'll email it.

    I'm new so I have not learned much about the incoming links and am not sure exactly what this is (I'm off to find out now). But my question is should I or who should I inform about this. Is this from my end (ll my code looks fine) or that end? Or is it something to do with the WP.com stats plugin?

    Thanks for any replies...

  2. Kafkaesqui

    Posted 8 years ago #

    It's called referer or referral spam and there's not much to do about it beyond not displaying referral links anywhere on your site, publicly.

    Just another way spammers pollute the Internet.

  3. echoca
    Posted 8 years ago #

    Thank you for the reply. The link was very informative, I appreciate that, learned lots about spamming. Damn spammers...

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic