Support » Plugin: WooCommerce » Woocommerce cart does not update properly

  • Resolved Edwin


    Hello, I have been having issues with my woocommerce cart. This is nothing new, it has existed for several months and has survived many woocommerce updates. However, my website is getting more customers and traffic now so it has become a problem.

    If a single product is added to the cart and the customer checks out there is no issue. The problem arises when the customer is actively shopping and is adding products, viewing the cart and and then returning to the store. The cart dos not update properly and if they try to remove a product by pressing the red “x” it will remove temporarily but then returns when they view the cart again. For now the temporary solution is to press CTRL R and this refreshes the page and updates the cart correctly.

    I have tried everything within my power. I have deleted woocommerce and reinstalled. I have disabled all plugins and changed the theme to Twentyfourteen, there are no caching plugins, there is no caching on the server.

    I have consulted with the web hosting company and also the theme developer they both indicate the woocommerce plug in is the issue. Additionally, I have worked through suggested solutions posted here:

    I have opened console and this is a list of errors I receive but I am not sure what to do about it or if they are even relevant.

    Loading failed for the <script> with source “blob:”.
    Loading failed for the <script> with source “”.
    Loading failed for the <script> with source “”.
    JQMIGRATE: Migrate is installed, version 1.4.1
    The resource at “” was blocked because tracking protection is enabled.[Learn More]
    Loading failed for the <script> with source “”.

    Unfortunately, woocommerce support is lacking. They are just telling me the cart is a free product and I should be more grateful and buy some of their premium products.

    If anybody has a working solution for this or any relevant suggestions I truly would be most grateful.

    Thank you and sincerely,

    The page I need help with: [log in to see the link]

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Plugin Support RK


    Hi there,

    From everything that you’ve said, I do still think that caching is playing a role here. Have you checked whether there are any caching plugins that’s auto-installed by your hosting provider? You can find these under **Plugins > All Plugins** and then looking for either “Drop Ins” or “Must Use” at the top alongside “Active”, “Recently Activated etc.”

    They are just telling me the cart is a free product and I should be more grateful and buy some of their premium products.

    Any chance you can send through a ticket number that you had on While that support channel is for customers with premium products, I’d like to check how that was communicated – especially the “be grateful” part.


    Thread Starter Edwin


    Hello, thank you for the prompt reply. I did as you said and there is nothing there. Also, this is one of the first things we checked when I started troubleshooting so it is rehash.

    Last year we switched from an Apache to a Litespeed server although we do not see how that would cause an issue. The web host says many other wordpress sites using woocommerce have no issues using the same server. I asked the web host about the server again and this is what he said:

    “Confirm there is no caching enabled on the server. Litespeed Cache required additional license in order to use it and this server do not has this license.”

    Regarding woocommerce support, I also contacted them last year regarding this issue when I first noticed it as I was building out the website. They told me it was a theme issue. The Theme developer said otherwise and I decided to let it be for a while. But now the issue is no longer avoidable.

    I contacted woocommerce again a couple days ago and support is again lacking. The instructions they gave me were not workable such as press F12 and things like this. Also, she claimed she could not even recreate the issue which shows a really poor effort. This is what I have come to expect from woo support, because their replies are always heavy on the courtesy and formality but very content lite. This latest reply is true to form, they obviously put no effort into it at all. Ticket number is 1185809

    • This reply was modified 2 years, 9 months ago by Edwin.

    Your pages are served from browser cache.

    If you use Chrome, press F12 and then ‘network’. Here you can disable cache. Then you see the cart page will be renewed.

    I think it is caused by the Expires header, because I see: expires: Thu, 28 Jun 2018 19:18:12 GMT. Which practically tells the browser that the cart page content is valid for 1 month.

    I don’t know how LiteSpeed is configured. Does it use .htaccess like apache? Please check the ‘expires’ of php files.

    Thread Starter Edwin


    Hello, it turns out that you are correct. Here is the reply from the web host:

    “Yes, Litespeed is a drop-in replacement for Apache and read .htaccess just as well like Apache. Upon further checking I found out a .htaccess file in your home directory containing the rules of ‘mod_expires’ which controls the ‘expire headers’. I have disabled it now.”

    The cart works now as it should. Thank you so much for helping me with this very persistent issue!

    Plugin Support RK


    Brilliant @josk79 – Thanks for the help 🙂

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • The topic ‘Woocommerce cart does not update properly’ is closed to new replies.