Support » Plugin: The Events Calendar » Waste of money and time.

  • ivandabbles

    (@ivandabbles)


    I’ve been reporting a significant bug to Modern Tribe since last Summer. For the first 3 months, they flatly denied it, despite glaring and obvious evidence. When they finally acknowledged it (only after much persistence), they then did ZERO about it. To this day, I’m a paid add-on customer who can’t use the plugin because of a bug preventing the most basic use by site visitors.

    Meanwhile, I get emails from them about all the exciting glowing things that are in the works, yet they still refuse to fix what they already have.

    WordPress plugins are a vast, messy universe, but this is really the worst plugin experience I’ve ever had.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Plugin Author Barry

    (@barryhughes-1)

    Hi @ivandabbles,

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review.

    We’re sorry you haven’t had the experience you were hoping for and accept we could have done better here, especially in relation to our communication surrounding this bug.

    I’ve been reporting a significant bug to Modern Tribe since last Summer.

    If I’ve joined the dots correctly, I believe the specific bug you have been concerned with relates to the selection of dates in the mobile-friendly month view: if a visitor first selects a date and then changes the orientation of the device before continuing, the selected date jumps back to the first day of the month.

    • We should have been faster at recognizing this as a bug and logging it on our internal tracker — I absolutely agree
    • Our assessment once it was logged, however, was that while this bug could certainly be a tad annoying in some cases, it would not represent a genuinely significant problem for the majority of end-users
    • Very few of our customers flagged this same issue as a concern

    We regularly triage and prioritize outstanding bugs and it was for those last two reasons that we decided to address other bugs before this one. At this point, I still feel our prioritization was correct and that shipping fixes for other bugs ahead of this one was the right thing to do — however I recognize both that we could have got that wrong and that the overall delay in addressing this, regardless of priority, was too long.

    Mostly, though, I want to apologize about our communication surrounding this issue. We could have been more transparent and we could have spent more time working with you to better understand its importance to your project.

    If you’re set on moving on to a different solution then we’re sorry to hear it but, if instead you decide to stay with us or perhaps come back in the future to give us a second chance, I hope you’ll see that we’ve learned from this.

    Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts: while it’s never fun to read a negative review, these are in many ways the ones we value most.

    ivandabbles

    (@ivandabbles)

    Thanks for the note. My public review got the first legitimately attentive and thoughtful response from you guys. While I don’t think that should be what sparks the meaningful reply, I do appreciate a reply nonetheless.

    It’s one thing to backburner something, it’s another entirely to ignore it. What would you say a reasonable amount of time to fix this bug would be? 18 months? By the way, it’s not just on mobile, if you resize the window on ANY browser, the date jumps off of the selected date. And however low you think the priority, what’s for sure clear is I can’t show/market/improve the site with this as an issue.

    For sure I’m done. I’ve put in a request for a refund for the add-on via the Modern Tribe support forum, and I hope you guys will honor the request.

    Plugin Author Barry

    (@barryhughes-1)

    By the way, it’s not just on mobile, if you resize the window on ANY browser, the date jumps off of the selected date.

    Acknowledged, yes 🙂

    In attempting to summarize the problem I concentrated on the environment (mobile/handheld devices) that I felt was most relevant, but you’re right: it can indeed be seen on a desktop browser.

    To encounter this, a desktop user would need to reduce the size of their browser significantly – in order to make our mobile-friendly month view kick in – then select a date and then resize their browser once again. I accept some users may occasionally do this, but I feel that is very much an edge case.

    I say that not to diminish the importance of the bug in your eyes, but just to give context and a better picture to others reading this review.

    And however low you think the priority, what’s for sure clear is I can’t show/market/improve the site with this as an issue.

    I’ll be honest, I remain surprised that this is the case.

    Thousands of sites launch every year with a calendar powered by our plugin as a key component, yet it seems very few have treated this as something worthy of blocking the launch of their sites. If there are any notes you can provide that might help us to understand the particular importance of this in your case we would genuinely be grateful.

    I’ve put in a request for a refund for the add-on via the Modern Tribe support forum, and I hope you guys will honor the request.

    We will of course review your request in due course.

    Thank you again for the follow-up.

    ivandabbles

    (@ivandabbles)

    To encounter this, a desktop user would need to reduce the size of their browser significantly – in order to make our mobile-friendly month view kick in – then select a date and then resize their browser once again. I accept some users may occasionally do this, but I feel that is very much an edge case.

    If a user selects a date (that’s not today), and resizes their browser (not significantly) or changes the orientation on their phone, it snaps off of the selected date. I realize you find it edge case-y. But FOR ME, it’s core. And I’ve been letting you know for going on 1 full year.

    I’ll be honest, I remain surprised that this is the case.

    I guess you’ll have to take my word for it, which I can see is hard for you guys to do. A reminder that you’re the one telling me it’s such a low priority that you’re not going to fix it. Seems weird to also be surprised by my personal feelings about how that affects what I do with that information.

    Plugin Author Barry

    (@barryhughes-1)

    We do take your word for it and understand that, for you, it is core.

    I don’t think there’s been any suggestion that we won’t fix it, either. In fact, I’ve increased the priority of this bug in response to your feedback.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this review.