Support » Plugin: BP Profile Widgets » User data disappears after disable / reenable plugin

  • Hello,
    Thanks for this plugin! I am seeing an issue when I deactivate the plugin and then reenable it. All the user links entered are gone. The settings made on the plugin settings page are also gone. Any idea how to fix this? I am hosting on WPEngine.com. the development site is located at shpdev.wpengine(dot)com. Thank you.

    Also are you maintaining this plugin to keep it functional with the recent releases of WordPress and BuddyPress?

    https://wordpress.org/plugins/bp-profile-widgets/

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Plugin Author slushman

    (@slushman)

    hey rezon8,

    Yes, when you deactivate the plugin the links disappear. It was the best way I could put together to manage the field creation with junking up people’s profiles with extra fields.

    I’ll add the plugin settings retention to my next iteration of the plugin though. That should be fairly standard stuff and I’m not sure why that would change when the plugin is merely deactivated.

    I do maintain the plugin and it should still work with the current versions of WordPress and BuddyPress. I don’t always update the README to reflect that status though. 🙂

    I was reading up on this and think having an uninstall.php may be a lead to retaining the plugin settings when deactivating/reactivating… Do you have this plugin up on Github?

    Plugin Author slushman

    (@slushman)

    Actually, its the other way around. By default, plugin settings remain in the database until they are explicitly deleted. That’s what the uninstall.php file is commonly used to do – delete the plugin settings when the plugin is deleted from the site.

    I don’t use uninstall.php in the current version, but I don’t remember off the top of my head when the plugin settings get deleted, if it at all. I know when a widget is selected from the plugin settings, the plugin then activates the widget and creates the appropriate profile fields. And it removes those profile fields when the widget is unchecked in the plugin settings. But like I said, I don’t remember doing anything with the plugin settings as far as removing them from the database.

    I’m planning to rewrite the plugin using the WordPress Plugin Boilerplate at some point. At which time, I’ll definitely add removing the settings in the uninstall.php, but I don’t believe its there currently.

    https://github.com/slushman/bp-profile-widgets

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • The topic ‘User data disappears after disable / reenable plugin’ is closed to new replies.