Support » Plugin: Stackable - Page Builder Gutenberg Blocks » Unable to deactivate plugin

  • Despite multiple tries to deactivate this plugin, it still will not deactivate. Doesn’t matter if you submit a “reason for deactivating” or not. It just will not go away. I finally had to submit a trouble ticket. Not worth the energy I’m having to put into this.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Plugin Author Benjamin Intal

    (@bfintal)

    Hello, when you click on deactivate, you’ll just need to click on the “Skip and Deactivate” button that’s on the screen. This is a similar practice with other plugins such as Elementor.

    If you clicked on the above and it wouldn’t deactivate, then that might be a bug or a conflict with another plugin. We haven’t yet encountered anything like that before, but I wish that you gave us a chance first to address the issue, before you hit us badly with a 1-star review.

    Thread Starter ahendrickson

    (@ahendrickson)

    I did click that. As stated in my review: It doesn’t matter if you submit a reason for deactivating or not…it won’t go away.

    And according to another user, over a year ago, this isn’t the first time it’s happened. See the following review for the same issue. That user, jzibe, somehow figured out how to get it to go away (without your help).
    https://wordpress.org/support/topic/cannot-deactivate-nor-delete-this-plugin/

    A bug that is over a year old that won’t let you remove the plugin? Seems like a legitimate reason for a 1-star review.

    Plugin Author Benjamin Intal

    (@bfintal)

    Thanks for getting back. In the ticket you mentioned, unfortunately we weren’t able to dig deeper in order to see the issue. We also couldn’t replicate the issue on our end. As you mentioned, the user was able to deactivate it after some time on his own, which made us think that it might have been some interaction with another plugin that may have caused the issue. As I recall, we also didn’t get any other similar reports on issues with deactivation, even in our priority support channels – if we have had additional reports, then we would have gotten more information and have had help with investigating the issue. Without much information to go on, there can be any number of causes, most of which can be out of our control (like for example a theme or a plugin, or some custom code that may have caused a JavaScript error in the plugins page). So because of all those, we felt it was safe to leave and skip the issue then.

    We fix issues when we find them during development, or during our manual and automated tests, or when they’re reported to us by users or by our community. For this specific one, now that you have reported it, it’s not anymore a one time thing – so it changes the prioritization for this issue. We will be investigating this and we’ll be including a fix in our next update. We regularly release updates that contain new features and/or fixes.

    We always strive to fix issues, big or small, and we are always open to suggestions and feedback because we are invested in Stackable and want it to continue to grow. However, we can only successfully do this with the help of our users.

    I’m sorry, but I beg to differ, this is definitely not a legitimate reason for such a terrible review – especially since we are very keen to fix issues like this very quickly – and we always do fix urgent bugs as soon as we possibly can. Something like this can simply be reported as a bug, then resolved in a day or two with a bug fix release. I don’t think an easily resolvable bug is enough reason to hurt my business and livelihood with a 1-star rating.. or anyone’s livelihood for that matter.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • The topic ‘Unable to deactivate plugin’ is closed to new replies.