Support » Plugins and Hacks » “Tweet this” warning

“Tweet this” warning

  • This is a general warning, not particularly related to the Tweet This plug-in but I have to put it somewhere! It’s about a firm called Th8.us – an URL shortener. If you use this, when people click on it it produces adverts on top of your website. If you don’t mind that, fair enough, but I do very definitely mind.
    I have changed my url shortener to bit-ly which I use anyway. It’s a drop-down list in the Tweet This settings. People should know about this!

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • This is an update – Tweet This is actually made by the same person who runs th8.us – Richard X Thripp. I have e-mailed him about this unsolicited advertising and he hasn’t replied. WordPress can’t be blamed, I guess, but somebody should be responsible for these plug-ins and this is definitely not good business practice. Mr Thripp says his products are open source – that’s not my understanding of open source software.

    use this instead

    I have to agree about Tweet This – not disclosing ads served is a no go for me – although you don’t have to use Mr. Thripp’s url shortening service

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • The topic ‘“Tweet this” warning’ is closed to new replies.