"Tweet this" warning (3 posts)

  1. Ruth at Virtual Balance
    Posted 6 years ago #

    This is a general warning, not particularly related to the Tweet This plug-in but I have to put it somewhere! It's about a firm called Th8.us - an URL shortener. If you use this, when people click on it it produces adverts on top of your website. If you don't mind that, fair enough, but I do very definitely mind.
    I have changed my url shortener to bit-ly which I use anyway. It's a drop-down list in the Tweet This settings. People should know about this!

  2. Ruth at Virtual Balance
    Posted 6 years ago #

    This is an update - Tweet This is actually made by the same person who runs th8.us - Richard X Thripp. I have e-mailed him about this unsolicited advertising and he hasn't replied. WordPress can't be blamed, I guess, but somebody should be responsible for these plug-ins and this is definitely not good business practice. Mr Thripp says his products are open source - that's not my understanding of open source software.

  3. Samuel B

    Posted 6 years ago #

    use this instead

    I have to agree about Tweet This - not disclosing ads served is a no go for me - although you don't have to use Mr. Thripp's url shortening service

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic


No tags yet.