Support » Plugin: Media Deduper » This is NOT a trusty plugin

  • I was really hoping that this plugin would be helpful. I was maxing out my inodes on my hosting and was working to try and get my files down because I had ridiculous amounts of thumbnails and duplicated files after ten years of blogging and several host changes. I was recommended this plugin on a reddit forum.

    I was surprised that it found so many dupes, but when I checked them over, they did seem legit, as they were all showing the kinds of file names I expected (filename1, filename2, etc).

    Unfortunately, after I deleted them, and everything seemed fine, a few days later I started getting tons of alerts showing broken images everywhere. It turned out it had deleted a TON of files that were not dupes. Not only that, but because it merged files together, it changed alt text on files that shouldn’t have been changed and changed the sharing images for certain posts to images belonging to completely separate posts.

    In short, it basically broke a TON of posts on my site, and I’ve now spent several days having to clean it up.

    I definitely feel like an idiot because I trusted the technology to know what it was doing, and I should have been more thorough in my inspection of what it had done. But I hope someone can learn from my mistakes and not waste their money like I did.

Viewing 1 replies (of 1 total)
  • Plugin Contributor Ben Byrne


    Hi @amotherthing,

    I’m sorry you had a bad experience with Media Deduper. I realize it’s been 5 months since you left this review, but if you’re willing and able to provide more information to our support team), we’d love to learn more about exactly what went wrong. While some of the things you mention are expected, known behaviors (that we clearly need to document better!), the deletion of non-duplicates is not a behavior we’ve had others report and we’d definitely like to get to the bottom of as that’s absolutely not acceptable and shouldn’t ever happen.

    If this is “old news” and you’d rather not take the time, that’s okay, but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to ask. At the very least, if you could reach out with that form to request a refund we’d be happy to provide one.

    Apologies for your unfortunate experience.

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 11 months ago by Ben Byrne.
Viewing 1 replies (of 1 total)
  • The topic ‘This is NOT a trusty plugin’ is closed to new replies.