Support » Plugin: The Events Calendar » They don’t deserve your money – support don’t care

  • englishteacherfrance

    (@englishteacherfrance)


    Brought the paid version, expecting support if there were any issues.

    There are issues with Events Calendar Pro when used with other plugins, code displays instead of text, cannot remove export links, to name a couple.

    Their paid support consists of a forum only, you cannot contact support direct, only that they claim to monitor the support forum.

    That is very poor considering the money paid for the plugin.

    They could provide support if they wanted to, no question it is not offered so they save money.

    If they do not offer support for paid purchases, they do not deserve your money.

    I put one star, as it did not allow me to put zero.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Plugin Contributor András Guseo

    (@aguseo)

    Hello @englishteacherfrance,

    Thank you for your feedback and I am really sorry to hear about your disappointment!

    I’m also surprised to see you gave us a 1-star rating as I couldn’t find any open topics from you here in the .org forums. If you have posted in our premium forums and you haven’t yet received a response within the promised timeframe of 24-48 hours in the working week – as stated in our support policy – please let me know and share the urls with me, I will personally take care of them myself and make sure to give you a timely response each time.

    We are aware that there can be bugs in our plugins, just like in any other from the thousands of plugins. Also, when the bugs are reported to us we do take the time and effort to fix them in a timely manner.

    The support forums here on wordpress.org are mainly for the users of our free plugins and we do check these on a weekly basis.

    As for premium support – although at the moment we don’t provide support over phone, chat or email – we do make efforts to respond to every post within a day.

    Regarding the issues you mentioned above, we try to be as compatible with other plugins as possible, but I hope you can understand that’s quite difficult. Nonetheless, if you report an incompatibility we will try our best to make it work from our side.

    Regarding removing the export link you will find the following 2 articles in our knowledge base useful:

    I would be happy if after you have experienced our premium support you could come back and reviewed your rating to mirror your experience.

    Thanks and looking forward to help you out if needed!

    Cheers,
    Andras

    englishteacherfrance

    (@englishteacherfrance)

    Hi

    I am surprised that you didn’t look in the paid forums section first, I did post there and also listed that I paid for your product.

    I didn’t want anything for free, paid for it, not used the free version.

    I gave you the chance to address the issue in the paid forum section, when I got no reply I post my review here – which is what each customer is entitled to do.

    If you want a better review, then provide better support.

    I do see that when I posted in a public forum, that it got a fast response though..

    My post in the paid forum section is here https://theeventscalendar.com/support/forums/topic/rollover-text-showing-code-from-siteorigin-page-builder/#post-1363170

    I do have issue with what you refer to as “premium support”

    To be clear to readers and potential purchasers, you do not “provide’ premium support, you have a forum which you can only post to if you are a paying user, but I later read that your forum is not monitored regularly.

    That is not premium support.

    Premium support is a ticket system that is answered in a timely fashion, where each ticket is acknowledged and replied to, hopefully resolving the issue.

    Let’s explore your comment “Regarding the issues you mentioned above, we try to be as compatible with other plugins as possible, but I hope you can understand that’s quite difficult. Nonetheless, if you report an incompatibility we will try our best to make it work from our side.” Probably every WP user is using multiple plugins, you try to make it sound like it is not your problem if your plugin doesn’t work with other plugins.

    That is not the case.

    If you are charging money for a plugin (read service) then it should work. If it doesn’t then you need to supply proper support to try and resolve it.

    I am more than happy to continue to discuss this on this open to all forum.

    Thank you

    Plugin Contributor András Guseo

    (@aguseo)

    Hello again,

    Thank your again for your candid feedback on the topic.

    I did check our premium forums focusing on topics which are not answered, as your review suggested you did not receive support. It looks like you have received an answer from one of our team members within the promised timeframe of 24h, but after you posted your review here, and that is why I didn’t find it.

    you have a forum which you can only post to if you are a paying user

    Whoever purchases a license for one of our premium plugins is entitled to post in our premium support forums, this is a direct connection between the users and our support team. We handle the request there according to our support policy to which I posted a link before. We call it a “forum”, it is more of a Public Ticket System, where – as you say – each ticket is acknowledged and replied to, hopefully resolving the issue.

    Users without a license can use the support forums on wordpress.org which we are monitoring on a weekly basis. Also here no topic goes unanswered.

    I later read that your forum is not monitored regularly

    Could you please let me know where you read this? We definitely do not want to send a false message so we would like to check and see if this needs to be reviewed. Thank you!

    Probably every WP user is using multiple plugins, you try to make it sound like it is not your problem if your plugin doesn’t work with other plugins. […] If you are charging money for a plugin (read service) then it should work. If it doesn’t then you need to supply proper support to try and resolve it.

    You are absolutely right, the plugin should work. I apologize if I caused any misunderstanding. Let me try to clarify. There are a multitude of plugins in the ecosystem with different coding quality. Some follow WordPress coding standards and some don’t, for example. When we develop our plugins we do follow the WP coding standards and try to make our plugins as compatible with others as possible. Due to the number of plugins in the ecosystem it is impossible to test the compatibility with all of them, thus we cannot promise 100% compatibility with all of the plugins and themes out of the box.
    This is where we need to rely on members of our community like yourself, who help us discover bugs and incompatibilities and report it. We can then take these and work out a fix.
    Once the fix is developed it will go through 2-3 rounds of rigorous testing to make sure we do provide a solution for the issue and that we don’t introduce new bugs, and then it is published in the form of a Maintenance Release.

    If you take a look at our release schedule you will see that we are publishing new releases every 2-3 weeks fixing a multitude of bugs, incompatibilities and introducing new features.

    Sometimes the source of an incompatibility resides in a third party plugin and not in ours. In these cases we can only help up until a certain point because we only have control over our plugins. We then usually recommend the users to get in touch with the developers of the other plugin to help solve the issue.

    I hope this helps with the clarification.

    If you think the support we provide is not satisfactory then we would be happy to hear some ideas from you on how we could improve our support services in the forums. I will make sure it reaches the right ears. Before that I do hope you give us the chance to demonstrate how our support works.

    Cheers,
    Andras

    englishteacherfrance

    (@englishteacherfrance)

    Hi

    In your first post, in reply to my review, you posted the following as a solution:-

    “Regarding removing the export link you will find the following 2 articles in our knowledge base useful:

    Removing “Export” Links from Event Views
    Remove iCal and Google Calendar Links from Single Event Views
    I would be happy if after you have experienced our premium support you could come back and reviewed your rating to mirror your experience.

    Thanks and looking forward to help you out if needed!”

    However, both of these articles which you posted about and asked me to look at to resolve my issues are obsolete, as they do not work with the version of your product that I purchased.

    I am trying to work with your ‘premium’ support, I do want to resolve the issues I have found with your product.

    Let’s see how it goes shall we

    Plugin Contributor András Guseo

    (@aguseo)

    Hello again,

    I’m sorry about the inconvenience about that obsolete solutions. An older version of that extension seems to be linked in that article. I will flag this to our content team so we can fix it.
    In the meantime you can download the newer version from the below url. I have tested it on 2 of my test sites and worked there. I hope this will do the trick for you as well, please let me know.

    https://1drv.ms/u/s!Aqh6lbOjUW1Tvn7PdGRkS2K-_87a

    After your issues are dealt with we would be happy to receive feedback about your experience. Thanks!

    Andras

    englishteacherfrance

    (@englishteacherfrance)

    Hi

    I have followed the suggestions from the ‘premium’ support team.

    The suggestions consisted of turning off potentially conflicting plugins and trying a different style in events calendar layout.

    I have done this.

    It made no difference at all.

    I asked what I should try now or what suggestions the ‘premium’ support can come up with, I am waiting for a reply.

    It is very difficult to suggest that the support is premium for the following reasons:-

    It takes a long time to get any form of reply (unless I post here, where it is very public and then you reply, not to the tech details but in a PR spin way, understandably of course, but it doesn’t help me, the customer).

    The ‘premium’ support is a forum, not direct email contact between fee paying customers and the support team. I do not get emailed or notified if there is a reply on the forum. Thus I have to check it every 30 mins to see if there is a reply.

    So here is your chance to explain how this is ‘premium’ support for fee paying customers.

    Feel free to explain how the event calendar pro way, is a better way than a genuine email ticket based system, where fee paying customers can have their issues dealt with directly and in a timely fashion.

    Before I sign off, here is another point to note for potential purchasers. You answered me here (in the free forum) faster than I got answered in the fee paying customer ‘premium’ forum.

    You continue to reply to me considerably faster than any reply from ‘premium’ support.

    A cynic would say it’s more about PR damage control and trying to put a positive spin on the product.

    A techie would say the support team needs to try and look for answers before replying (some form of contact would be nice though, even to say thanks for trying our suggestions, sorry the suggestions didn’t work, please bear with us while we look deeper at the issue).

    All readers will make their own minds up on their view of this, some will be customers – some could be potential customers.

    Thanks for allowing me to post my candid and ongoing review.

    At this point – The Events Calendar Pro plugin still only gets one star.

    englishteacherfrance

    (@englishteacherfrance)

    Ok, I have a work around.

    I removed the css code that you suggested as that removed all the rollover text, which on our site was not good due to the number of same name events (courses).

    This left the issue of the code being displayed in the roll over text.

    However, by pasting the text required to be displayed (rollover text) in the excerpt field, this removes the displaying of the coding, but allows the rollover text to display.

    It is not perfect as it means duplicating text in the excerpts box as well as the main on page text, more work when creating events (courses), but it is working.

    Thank you for trying.

    Support is in effect part of development of a plugin, its not the pain in a developers life, its part of the development solution.

    You can spin it however you might like to, but this is not premium support for paying customers.

    I will write a review of the program in a few months, now that I can finally start to upload events on mass.

    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Brute Squad and Volunteer Moderator

    I’m closing this review. The reason is simple: this is a “premium” user that is using these forums for support. That’s not permitted here.

    I will leave the review is place but please in the future the reviewer needs to keep the “premium” support off of these forums.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • The topic ‘They don’t deserve your money – support don’t care’ is closed to new replies.