• Don’t use this. It fails to show many photos that are in the posts. It doesn’t make a thumbnail and doesn’t look very nice. Better to use the WordPress Jetpack feature. Makes your site faster too since its not running on your server.
    [ Signature moderated ]

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Plugin Author Ajay

    (@ajay)

    I’m surprised to see a 1 star rating to this plugin as well without requesting any support or elaborating an issue.

    Additionally, if you had really checked my plugin out, you’d have realised that Jetpack doesn’t provide the feature that my plugin provides.

    As I pointed out elsewhere, looking at your thread history: https://wordpress.org/support/profile/chimacintosh it appears to me that you’ve written random reviews of various plugins just giving them 1 stars without any real reason and a few others 5 star.

    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Forum Moderator and Brute Squad

    *Looks at reviews. Drinks coffee.*

    Good morning @chimacintosh (at least it’s morning where I am)!

    The problem with many of these 1 star reviews is that they don’t really accomplish much with a lack of details in what you’ve tried to do to solve it. And you’re just leaving review without bothering to contact the author for support first.

    You’ve 57 posts in these forums. Not one of them is made outside of the review section. The majority read like so.

    I would just avoid. This was time consuming to find out it doesn’t work well.

    This only caused my site to slow down when I tried using it. Avoid.

    Publicize in JetPack has this functionality built-in. Avoid.

    This is ugly output and doesn’t do anything fantastic. Avoid.

    Caused problems with my website when I was on vacation. Avoid.

    This never worked for me. Perhaps the paid version does.

    I used this for a long time and didn’t notice any difference. I would just avoid this. If you can’t tell if something helps you, you are probably better off without it.

    It stopped working and I stopped using it. Such is life.

    I used this in the past and then one day it caused errors and issues. I would avoid it.

    WordPress improved their ability to support other video providers so this isn’t needed anymore. Worked great though while it was necessary.

    You get the idea. Also I’ve redacted the links in your reviews back to your site, that’s not what reviews are for. Also please don’t sign your posts with a signature.

    Here’s a few articles you may have seen about leaving a good bad review.

    http://pippinsplugins.com/how-to-leave-a-good-bad-review/
    http://chrislema.com/theres-wrong-way-give-plugin-feedback-wordpress-org/

    You are permitted to leave 1 star reviews and you’ve left lots of them. You’ve also demonstrated that when prompted you can leave better feedback as seen in this topic.

    https://wordpress.org/support/topic/avoid-11?replies=9

    But that review starts out poorly too but you do expand on that. That’s cool! But I’m asking you to please make the reviews better by starting out with useful information.

    Hi Jan,

    Thanks for contacting me. A public forum is an interesting way to have me respond but I will since that is the choice you have given me.

    I have at least 20 reviews that are 5 star. This characterization of my reviews as though they are not thoughtful is not only not true, but implies that I am not a thoughtful person. In addition you used the text of what one of the authors of a plugin wrote to me, which implies that you have already had a conversation and made your decision about me before gathering the facts.

    The facts are this. Not all authors support their plugin. Not all plugins stay in the directory so they can’t be responded to like BackupBuddy. I did not do anything that other reviewers did not do. Other reviewers both has short reviews, had links, and didn’t explain the technical issues of what happened. Listen I understand your point of view, you want the reviews to be fair. But authors will get 1 star reviews for valid reasons.

    For your information, I do work with developers and do help them when their plugin is excellent. Look at my posts of Janis website who makes the excellent Broken Link Checker plugin. The fact is that both you Ajay can’t verify or not if I worked with other authors before leaving a 1 star review. But it is not the responsibility of a reviewer to also be a developer. I could get into the technical issues on a public forum, but that doesn’t help anyone. I am not going to post my private details of my server in a public forum, and very few plugin authors have private for a fee service which I would gladly pay.

    Does it help the average person who is not technical to read a review that the error_log went to 29 GB with his plugin, or any other the other plugins that I had problems with? Does it help when I discuss the problems in such a way that only an incomplete picture of what happened occurred? Rather than attacking your customers in this forum in a public place, a private email could have handled this better.

    Delete my account if you must, but every story has two sides.

    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Forum Moderator and Brute Squad

    I’m sorry you feel that way. What I was trying to do is inspire you to leave more in depth reviews with tangible information and effort. That’s all.

    This part is not correct though.

    In addition you used the text of what one of the authors of a plugin wrote to me, which implies that you have already had a conversation and made your decision about me before gathering the facts.

    I did get notified by an author but all the text I wrote was my own. The links were copy-pasta but that’s all that I copied.

    Plugin Author Ajay

    (@ajay)

    Hi,

    The fact is that both you Ajay can’t verify or not if I worked with other authors before leaving a 1 star review.

    I can verify that you definitely didn’t work with me before the 1 star reviews.

    If you look through all my plugins’ support forums, you’ll see that I’m very active in supporting them. It’s something that all users have been pleased about and it also explains the high ratings and reviews my plugins have received. For this specific plugin, yours is the only 1 star review.

    I have no issues with any rating that is given for my plugins (even 1 stars). But, if it’s something that doesn’t work, I would appreciate being notified for support. And, it’s something I am sure all plugin authors would feel the same. We put in a lot of work into developing our plugins to support the WordPress community and it’s just common courtesy to be given a chance to help solve a problem before being told that the plugin has to be avoided. Again, without giving clear details or issues.

    This plugin does what it says. Your review stated that JetPack has the feature, but as far as I am aware, it doesn’t at this point of time!

    In addition you used the text of what one of the authors of a plugin wrote to me, which implies that you have already had a conversation and made your decision about me before gathering the facts.

    I tried contacting you, but after having received no response, I was forced to contact the mods.

    Hello,

    Then if I am the only 1 star review you don’t have anything to worry about. If what I say is so inaccurate and wrong, then that reflects on me not you doesn’t it?

    Lets agree to disagree on this one. I wish you the best in your future endeavors.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • The topic ‘Stopped working’ is closed to new replies.