spam attack through Alex King Share This or LJ CrossPost (2 posts)

  1. amul
    Posted 7 years ago #

    Cross reference with the LJXP project: http://code.google.com/p/ljxp/issues/detail?id=45

    X-Ref with LJ Support Staff:

    Last night, I posted a blog entry to my WordPress-powered site. This site uses a program called "Livejournal Cross Poster" (http://code.google.com/p/ljxp/) to automatically repost the entry to one of my LJ accounts (amuls_photos). I then used Semagic to open that post, copy-all the contents, switch to a different LJ account (amul), and paste-all the entry to that LJ account.

    While I do not have time stamps for all of these actions, the entry to lj account "amul" is posted at Thu, Apr. 24th, 2008, 12:06 am (Central).

    At Date: Thu, 24 Apr 2008 15:00:51 UT, a user replied to the version on
    account "amuls_photos." This was the message:

    "I hesitate to bring this up, since I may be the only one seeing this, but... for some reason, there are, at a quick guesstimate, approximately 30-odd porn links appended to this post before the "Share This" and "Originally published at" taglines. Was this deliberate, or did something (a program? a virus?) somehow sneak them in?"

    At 1:46pm (Central), I verified that the amuls_photos entry did have a
    large number of porn links, though neither of the other versions did. I
    deleted the entry there and reposted it, but still have the automatic email notification from LJ.

    Is this a known issue? Can you provide more information about this
    intrusion? Because I copy/pasted the contents from "amuls_photos" to
    "amul," the information must have been added after the original posting
    through the WordPress Plugin.

  2. mylife64
    Posted 7 years ago #

    Sounds like you may have been hacked..

    Here's a few links that might help, and a quick search in the docs/forums might offer even more information..



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic