Shareaholic tripping virus alert? (2 posts)

  1. joetaxpayer
    Posted 3 years ago #

    On my site RothMania I run sexy bookmarks by shareaholic. I received a note from a reader:
    The first message appears when I type in the name of your site, the second message appears when I copy the cache of your site. Hope that helps.

    15/05/2012 6.06.14 Firefox Anti-Virus Web Rilevato: HEUR:Trojan.Script.Generic http://rothmania.net/

    15/05/2012 6.09.28 Firefox Anti-Virus Web Rilevato: HEUR:Trojan.Script.Generic http://rothmania.net/wp-content/plugins/sexybookmarks/spritegen/jquery.shareaholic-publishers-sb.min.js?ver=

    This plugin was just updated, and the files look like a new install. Is this plugin tripping a false positive? Or am I getting hacked (again)?

  2. freerobby
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Hi Joe,

    The fact that it's classifying this as "Trojan.Script.Generic" means that your antivirus software is flagging the javascript as potentially unsafe. They do not provide any evidence to suggest you've been hacked or that the javascript is actually unsafe (as opposed to just looking like other javascript that they might believe is unsafe).

    I'm sorry you're seeing these warnings - I will see if there is anything we can do on our end to stop them from showing up. But indeed they appear to be false positives, wrongly picked up by your antivirus software.

    --Robby Grossman
    Tech Lead, Shareaholic

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic