I think those files *should* be deleted after each install. They only provide more ways to potentially break an installation and provide information about the system they’re on that could help attackers. The installation script should provide an option to delete unnecessary files once it’s completed.
It’s been a while but I was wondering what is the new install/update script behavior in regards to the files that are unnecessary and as such should be deleted once everything’s installed.
I had mentioned it in the 5-minute install on the Wiki but for some reason Matt removed it without any explanation (see the document’s history).
Thanks for any clarification on this.