Support » Plugins and Hacks » Revert back to previous version

Revert back to previous version

  • Hello, the new version of WooCommerce is totally broken, lost my sidebar, lost some menu items and I can’t place orders, I said what the authors said about changing the theme to the default and switching it back, but it doesn’t work, is really stupid that is a theme problem, the one who has to be fixed is WooCommerce which is the one that brought all the broken stuff in, i’m really dissapointed, WooCommerce needs to step up their game.

    Also if I can go back to previous version, will I lose anything? Or completely safe?


Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • I would like to know also. It’s completely broken. I go to my shopping cart and try to checkout, and it goes nowhere. When I click “checkout” It tries to go here: /checkout/#shipping

    Extremely frustrating. How do we revert back until they fix this broken “update”?

    Have not tested this, as I haven’t installed 2.1 yet, but I would guess that you could deactivate and delete 2.1, and install 2.0.20 which can be found here :


    You could then restore a backup of your database from before the 2.1 install. You did back up your database before install, right?

    If you have success, let us know.

    Unfortunately I didn’t back up, I have never had problems before with plugins and updates, I didn’t expect this to happen. I was so happy when I saw a new WooCommerce update that I just went straight for the update, but when I saw all the errors and all the missing stuff I was so disappointed, I hope somebody finds a fix for everything.

    I tried to reinstall the old version and deactivate the new. Didn’t work. Then tried deleting old version, lost everything, So I’m in the process of restoring my backup (fortunately I made one).

    Based on the wide-range of reported errors so far, it appears that more testing may have been prudent.

    Plugin Author Mike Jolley


    For the OP, the solution is to go to settings > Permalinks and save. This fixes shop page rewrite rules. See http://develop.woothemes.com/woocommerce/2014/02/solving-common-issues-after-updating-to-woocommerce-2-1/#404-errors-endpoints

    @darth Aside from the issue above, most of what I’ve seen has been due to themes. 2.1 has been in beta since Nov so really there is no excuse for them not testing/updating by now. Unfortunately most users don’t understand this and vent at this plugin instead…

    To roll back to 2.0.20, tou have to basically recreate some of the pages that 2.1 wipes out. Checkout -> Pay and Checkout / Order Received, add the appropriate short codes and remap them in your Page settings. I think it also wipes out the account pages.

    This update should probably have been versioned 3.0. I imagine alot of folks mistakenly upgraded not realising the major core changes.

    I reverted back by deleting the update including files and reloading the older version as if it were brand new…everything was there from the older version…just had to go through setup again. Thanks so much for sharing this information. 🙂

    I’m using a theme that doesn’t support this new version, too.
    I have simply deleted new woocommerce plugin and downloaded and uploaded to FTP the previous version. I have lost some pages, so I recreated them, all seems fine now.

    “Unfortunately I didn’t back up, I have never had problems”
    this is not true. You have no backup and no fade resistance on a separate test system. that is probably your hobby or you’re pupil

    I have the same problem with woocommerce plugin latest update completely messed up my client website checkout page and not only. Before the latest update I have received an email notification from wordfence plugin saying that as soon as you see the update for woocommerce , update it because there is a huge number of hacks on the plugin and this new one has a fix. Well, immediately I logged in to the client website and updated the woocommerce plugin, but then very shortly to realize that in fact the new updated completely destroyed the functionality of the plugin and showing a very ugly red error code on the website. Well, I can only be very disepointed on the woocommerce plugin and team as they kind of messed it up big time with this update. However this is the error I get and seems so far to have no solution to this big problem that woocommerce created!

    Any idea or help would be very apreciated.
    I thank you in advance, but really this help would be very very much important as its a client website and not my website.

    ( ! ) Fatal error: Call to undefined method WC_Shipping::get_available_shipping_methods() in C:\Users\CatNaum\Documents\wamp\www\mademoisellebelleuk\wp-content\themes\mademoiselle\woocommerce\checkout\review-order.php on line 14
    Call Stack
    # Time Memory Function Location
    1 0.0009 673896 {main}( ) ..\index.php:0
    2 0.0012 678872 require( ‘C:\Users\CatNaum\Documents\wamp\www\mademoisellebelleuk\wp-blog-header.php’ ) ..\index.php:17
    3 1.3465 43111072 require_once( ‘C:\Users\CatNaum\Documents\wamp\www\mademoisellebelleuk\wp-includes\template-loader.php’ ) ..\wp-blog-header.php:16
    4 1.3730 44809464 include( ‘C:\Users\CatNaum\Documents\wamp\www\mademoisellebelleuk\wp-content\themes\mademoiselle\page.php’ ) ..\template-loader.php:74
    5 1.4258 45030912 load_template( ) ..\page.php:16
    6 1.4269 45193056 require_once( ‘C:\Users\CatNaum\Documents\wamp\www\mademoisellebelleuk\wp-content\themes\mademoiselle\includes\loop.php’ ) ..\template.php:441
    7 1.4276 45193832 the_content( ) ..\loop.php:11
    8 1.4277 45194176 apply_filters( ) ..\post-template.php:166
    9 1.4282 45195688 call_user_func_array ( ) ..\plugin.php:199
    10 1.4282 45195720 do_shortcode( ) ..\plugin.php:199
    11 1.4283 45197560 preg_replace_callback ( ) ..\shortcodes.php:188
    12 1.4283 45199232 do_shortcode_tag( ) ..\shortcodes.php:188
    13 1.4283 45199360 call_user_func ( ) ..\shortcodes.php:273
    14 1.4283 45199400 WC_Shortcodes::checkout( ) ..\shortcodes.php:273
    15 1.4283 45199936 WC_Shortcodes::shortcode_wrapper( ) ..\class-wc-shortcodes.php:95
    16 1.4283 45241928 call_user_func ( ) ..\class-wc-shortcodes.php:70
    17 1.4293 45342176 WC_Shortcode_Checkout::output( ) ..\class-wc-shortcodes.php:70
    18 1.4293 45342176 WC_Shortcode_Checkout::checkout( ) ..\class-wc-shortcode-checkout.php:66
    19 1.4354 45822912 wc_get_template( ) ..\class-wc-shortcode-checkout.php:237
    20 1.4363 45845240 include( ‘C:\Users\CatNaum\Documents\wamp\www\mademoisellebelleuk\wp-content\themes\mademoiselle\woocommerce\checkout\form-checkout.php’ ) ..\wc-core-functions.php:105
    21 1.4438 45851152 do_action( ) ..\form-checkout.php:52
    22 1.4438 45852632 call_user_func_array ( ) ..\plugin.php:429
    23 1.4438 45852664 woocommerce_order_review( ) ..\plugin.php:429
    24 1.4438 45853056 wc_get_template( ) ..\wc-template-functions.php:1267
    25 1.4449 45983336 include( ‘C:\Users\CatNaum\Documents\wamp\www\mademoisellebelleuk\wp-content\themes\mademoiselle\woocommerce\checkout\review-order.php’ ) ..\wc-core-functions.php:105

    I have good look and I restore my backup with Woocommerce 2.0.20 but this mess with a plugin update with hundred of errors is not for a “stable” release, this is the worst scenario for a open software and create a complete climate of distrust around the project and his future development. I think this a step back and a bad example for the open community with the stability and quality is the first.

    @mikejolley When I setup my site, I used WooCommerce and had no issues until the last update. Now, my products variations are not showing up in the cart. No,w only the primary prices for products will show up in the cart even though a variation was selected.

    What can I do?

    I changed the permalink structure and updated my theme. So, what next can I do?



    At screen where I Add New product there is an Icon Y, to insert ShortCodes about WooCommerce shop.
    On previous version of WooCommerce it was OK, but when I updated to new version this icon is intact there and when I click a window all appears and offer different short codes. But when I click to any ICON in window to have required shortcode, nothing is being happedn, even on TOP of Window there are for TABs Shortcodes Section Post Type Shop
    nobody have any response.

    I would like to ask, how can I degrade to my WooCommerce plug to previous version, what consequences would I have to face ?

    Kindly reply in easy manner, As i’m new into eshop field.


    The “Short-code” issue, is a Woo choice for the new v2.2 update, as they mentioned in the Changelog:

    Tweak - Removed the shortcode button in favor to WooCommerce Shortcodes

    they remove it from the built-in / core functionality and create a new/standalone plugin:
    WooCommerce Shortcodes

    Btw, with every new/major updates, the database is also updated for the new changes, a downgrade will not be that simple!

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • The topic ‘Revert back to previous version’ is closed to new replies.