Support » Plugin: NextGEN Gallery - WordPress Gallery Plugin » Pro purchase – bad support – bad performance

  • I was a huge fan before Photocrati bought it and re-wrote the core. Now the performance drags down all pages. Even pages that do not have photos, galleries or NextGen widgets show really poor performance.

    My client’s web host has had to shut down our account for over use of shared resources. When we ran performance analyzer, NextGen libraries accounted for more than 55% of the resource usage on the homepage, where we weren’t using anything NextGen.

    Now that I’ve spent money to buy the Pro Version, I’m regretting it. I’m now searching for a really good replacement. Something that works like the original NextGen used to, before all the Photocrati tinkering and excuses.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • @mvbaxter: Thanks for the feedback. As usual, I usually try to review a reviewer’s forum threads to understand the origin or poor reviews. I don’t see any forum thread from you, but I did find a Pro email thread that may be yours.

    If so, I supposed you have some cause for the negative review, because we didn’t really get back to you with the kind of documentation you were looking for. But I’d also point out that you were trying to integrate NGG into a very custom plugin allowing access from multiple users, etc. We did run this past the developers, but we just don’t have the kind of detailed documentation you were looking for readily available.

    On the performance issues, the power and functionality we added in the latest version of NGG does come with some small performance trade-offs. But if there’s anything severe enough going on to require an account to be shut down, there’s obviously something very wrong and far outside the norm. I’m not sure what else to say on that without having more details on the issue.

    In any case, it’s clear your experience with NGG wasn’t great, and for that we (and I personally) apologize. We wish you the best of luck.

    (Erick @ Photocrati)

    @mvbaxter. Performance might be a problem. But doesn’t this depend on how much ‘features’ you enable?

    I’ve started using NextCellent Gallery on some websites, because the 2.0 update broke these sites and waiting for a working update was not an option.
    NextCellent Gallery is a fork of the NextGen plugin and works just the same. It’s worth a try if you really want to get rid of NextGen.
    I’ve tried WP Photo Album Plus, but that’s so bloated with useless features, that for me it’s useless.

    @mvbaxter – Just following up on some old reviews.

    As you know this review was written following a major overhaul of the plugin in version 2.0. At this point, most issues related to that overhaul of the plugin have been long addressed.

    For example, we’ve pushed out a lot of performance enhancements. The latest releases also remove scripts from pages with no NGG content.

    I’m not sure if you have the chance to use the plugin lately, but given the current performance of the plugin, a one-star rating seems a bit harsh, and we’re wondering if you might consider revising your rating?

    Let us know if you have question. Thanks. (Erick)

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • The topic ‘Pro purchase – bad support – bad performance’ is closed to new replies.