Support » Plugin: Preserved HTML Editor Markup » [Plugin: Preserved HTML Editor Markup] Completely messed up my website

  • Resolved Jae


    I installed this with the highest of hopes. But it completely messed up the formatting of the pages and posts on my website and stopped other plugins from working. I’ve uninstalled it now. The formatting has gone back to the way it should have been, but one of my other important plugins, which was working before is still not working. I don’t know what your plugin does behind the scenes but whatever it is, it seems to have completely messed my site right up! Thanks for nothing!!! 🙁

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Plugin Author MarcusPope


    @linseyja – I’m sorry to hear that. Did you use the “Fix Posts” and “Fix Pages” feature documented in the readme to correct your pages and posts? Did you create a backup of the site, which is recommended, before installing the plugin?

    If you have completely uninstalled my plugin and you did not use the “Fix Pages” and “Fix Posts” admin utility then there is nothing that my plugin could have done to affect your site or other plugins.

    I can certainly be of help to you, but exclaimatory remarks like “Thanks for nothing!!!” are not the nicest way to ask for it. If you would like some help, can you please answer the above questions and post the names and download links for the other plugin(s) still not working for you?

    This plugin has a great track record for solving some long standing issues with the editor in WordPress. I don’t take offense to you ranking it 1 star, but there are thousands of other users who are quite happy with it. And for the very few who have had problems I’ve consistently helped them to resolve their issues as seen in the other support threads for this plugin.

    Thanks in advance for your patience, I hope to hear back from you.


    @marcuspope how are you? First, thank you for this great plugin.

    At the moment when you add tables to Catablog items it seems to merge to the next item under the Library menu. When you publish the page and view it through the browser, if you look at the code it creates
    tags after every entry in the table.

    I thought maybe you could look into implementing some feature in this plugin to prevent the
    tag added to the tables for Catablog.

    One more thing, for anyone that uses this plugin if you read the instructions it says to backup your database just in case it breaks your site. I did this on my testing site and voila 😉 it works great.

    I like your plugin and I can see great features added in the future.

    Well done.

    Plugin Author MarcusPope


    Hi @mbrsolution – I can definitely look into the markup that is generated with Catablog. I’m not sure how this plugin will evolve as it meets my personal needs 100%. But I’m open to input if you have anything in particular you’d like to see.

    Thanks for the encouraging remarks, and I’ll let you know about Catablog when I get a chance to review the markup issue.


    Sorry I forgot to enter the code correctly 🙂

    You are most welcome

    Plugin Author MarcusPope


    @mbrsolution – this problem is due to a configuration setting in Catablog. Go into amdin > CataBlog > Options > Description. And uncheck “Render Line Breaks”. This will prevent Catablog from adding those br tags.

    @lynseja – Again, I’m sorry that you had problems with my plugin but it sounds like you reacted too soon to the formatting issues in your posts and pages, and didn’t know to use the Fix Posts and Fix Pages features in the administrative settings. I would still like to offer my support to get you back up, but your site did look like everything was working when I browsed it. That being said, I’m going to close this support ticket as resolved. If you would like me to help you further please feel free to send me an email to any address at and I’ll do what I can to help you out.

    Thanks again,

    Thank you @marcuspope, that fixes the problem when viewing the Catablog list on the browser.

    However if you have a look under CataBlog >> Library and lets say you have 3 items added. When you add a table on the first item and this is a simple table of 4 cells with a couple of words on each cell.

    When you view the Library again you will see the items merged with the item that has the table added. You then have to add the items to the gallery again or else they will not show on the browser.

    This is more a design issue and I know it has nothing to do with your plugin 🙂 I just thought I would share this with you since you replied.

    Much appreciated.

    Thank you

    Sorry forgot to mention it happens when you select List View in Library.

    Kind regards

    Plugin Author MarcusPope


    Ah, I understand what you are referring to. That is definitely an issue with Catablog – they’re trying to show a preview of the content and it’s being cut off at 120 characters. This will render incomplete html and cause the browser to merge the subsequent html.

    You should open a support thread on their plugin page and suggest to them that they use strip_tags() before calling substr() on line 864 of CataBlogItem.class.php to prevent this behavior. Another solution is to use a function that closes all tags left open, but those tend to be a little more finicky in my experience.

    Hopefully they can help you out with this.

    I’ve found other alternatives now. 🙂

    Thank you MarcusPope for all your help………….

    Kind regards

    Thanks Marcus for the plugin, it solves most of my problems.
    Except one, all code is formatted into one row if I enter the content inside the wysiwyg editor. This is okay for Google but not for code modifications. Code or content place into the HTML editor is formatted fine (also after a switch between the modes)
    Is there anything I can do?

    Plugin Author MarcusPope


    Olaf – I’m not sure what “code” you are pasting into the wysiwyg editor. Are you trying to paste HTML code into the Visual tab as if you were blogging an example snippet of html? Or are you trying to just paste copied html into the Visual editor where you’d want it to be, and then expect it to integrate it into the underlying code?

    The former is solvable the latter is not 🙁

    Please open a new support ticket at the bottom of this page:

    and I’d be glad to help you out.


Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • The topic ‘[Plugin: Preserved HTML Editor Markup] Completely messed up my website’ is closed to new replies.