Support » Plugin: WebP Converter for Media » Plugin not improving site speed according to Google; is it not working?

  • Resolved jodybethw

    (@jodybethw)


    I’ve installed the plugin, and upon running it, I received this message:

    Saving the weight of your images: 51.93 MB (61%)
    The process was completed successfully. Your images have been converted!

    However, I am still seeing the same speed problem I had before; according to google’s PageSpeed Insights, my website’s images are still taking 13 seconds to load: https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fspeakerdynamics.com%2F

    Why is the plugin not helping, at least a little? My SiteSpeed score is actually lower than it was before I installed the plugin.

    The page I need help with: [log in to see the link]

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Plugin Author Mateusz Gbiorczyk

    (@mateuszgbiorczyk)

    Hi @jodybethw,

    Thank you for your message.

    Do you have any problem with this plugin?

    Unfortunately, your website is poorly optimized and simply converting images to WebP will not solve the problem. If you expect a plugin to magically repair performance of your website, then I must make you sad. It’s a lot of work and you have to take care of a lot of things. WebP is one small step.

    Yes, I understand that the website is not optimized. I am beginning work on that. I did not build the site.

    This is the problem: I have activated the plugin but PageSpeed Insights STILL says that I need to “Serve images in next-gen formats” — shouldn’t that already be happening?

    Currently, images are taking 13.2 seconds to load. It has not gotten ANY faster than before I used the plugin. If the plugin is working properly, why am I still seeing a message saying that I need to “Serve images in next-gen formats”?

    Plugin Author Mateusz Gbiorczyk

    (@mateuszgbiorczyk)

    @jodybethw, do you have any errors in management panel of plugin? Also, send me a screenshot of your plugin settings.

    Ah I see another post in the forum about this — it might be a server issue as I got the “Server configuration error”. I’ll see if GoDaddy can help.

    • This reply was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by jodybethw.
    • This reply was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by jodybethw.
    • This reply was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by jodybethw.
    Plugin Author Mateusz Gbiorczyk

    (@mateuszgbiorczyk)

    Well, you have to start with this information, it would be much easier.

    If you use this hosting, see this thread:
    https://wordpress.org/support/topic/server-configuration-error-with-godaddy-hosting/

    In that thread, you said that “GoDaddy uses Varnish for its WordPress hosting. This causes the plugin to not function properly.” Does that mean I can’t use your plugin? I can’t move the website off of GoDaddy (I do not own the website, my client does.)

    Plugin Author Mateusz Gbiorczyk

    (@mateuszgbiorczyk)

    You can not.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.