Facebook Photo Fetcher
[resolved] Why does it link to akamaihd.net? (3 posts)

  1. Agnes
    Posted 3 years ago #

    The plugin looks very nice, however there is something that bothers me:
    Embedded pics link to another version with an URL hosted on akamaihd.net

    Why is that and what impact?


  2. justin_k
    Plugin Author

    Posted 3 years ago #

    A one-second google would reveal that akamai is a CDN, which Facebook uses to host their photos. If you don't want links there then you should talk to Facebook.

  3. Agnes
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Indeed, :)
    Well, I had understood it was a big CDN, not sure it was one of facebook, strange..

    And I see it very clearly (unlike in another post) because I could not get the lightbox to work.

    It is in fact what stopped me to use te plugin: I could not get it to work with another lightbox system I use (prettyphoto), that normally picks up on any image link, but in this case I'd have to dig into the plugin code to change something, wihich is not a good idea.
    Otherwise it is a very great plugin, really useful, I 'll certainly use another time! Thanks.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Plugin

  • Facebook Photo Fetcher
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Support Threads
  • Reviews

About this Topic


No tags yet.