[closed] Phishing email claims to be WordPress.org with removed plugin (2 posts)

  1. Chris Roberts
    Posted 4 years ago #

    This could be old news, but I've not seen it before. Got an email claiming to be from WordPress.org saying one of my plugins had been removed:

    Dear WordPress Plugin Developer,

    Unfortunately, a plugin you are hosting has been temporarily removed from the WordPress repository. We are going to manually review your plugin because it has been reported for violating our Terms of Service. If your plugin does not get approved then it will be permanently removed from the WordPress repository.

    You can check if your plugin has been approved or rejected at


    In the email, the link at the bottom actually points to http://wordpresss.comule.com/bb-login.php

    Gmail hadn't flagged the email as spam, and Chrome didn't warn of a possible phishing attempt, so this one appears to be pretty new. The lesson: as always, double and triple check url's. Don't trust anything.

  2. Known issue: http://wordpress.org/support/topic/warning-phishing-attempt?replies=1

    The people with big hammers are after them. Report the dink as spam at abuse@hotmail.com

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic