Support » Plugin: WooCommerce PayPal Checkout Payment Gateway » PayPal error (10736): PayPal rejected your shipping address because…

  • Resolved blliem

    (@blliem)


    payPal error (10736): PayPal rejected your shipping address because the city, state, and/or ZIP code are incorrect. Please double-check that they are all spelled correctly and try again.
    https://www.paypal.com/us/smarthelp/article/why-did-i-get-api-error-code-10736-ts2025

    Hello, I found that when an address in not exactly what Paypal wants, the order cannot be confirmed and paid.

    I find this not so good as customers should be able to pay anyway, then it’s my problem to fix their address later.

    Do you know how Paypal checks the customer address and how big is the risk that the address is refused because of typo or any small problem ?

    Is there a way to avoid this useless check ?

    Thank you.

    PS: I found this when searching on Google, so it seems that not only me think about it as a stupid paypal idea

    I’m losing sales each day due Paypal error 10736.
    ERRORCODE0 -> 10736L_SHORTMESSAGE0 -> Shipping Address Invalid City State Postal CodeL_LONGMESSAGE0 -> A match of the Shipping Address City, State, and Postal Code failed.L_SEVERITYCODE0 -> Error
    This error occurs when customer mis spell his City. For example, if “EastGreenville” is used instead of “East Greenville”, Paypal rejects the payment and throws the error. Customer keeps trying and have no idea what’s wrong.
    The solution is to use a drop down menu for known cities that Paypal checks in USA, Brazil, Canada (so far that I come across that checks for cities). However, Prestashop is not willing to make city as a drop down menu as it will take a long time to load the address form page as mentioned in forge.prestashop.com.
    I’m sure many other merchants also face this problem.

    Maybe this solution ?
    https://magento.stackexchange.com/questions/6755/invalid-shipping-address-10736-error-with-paypal-express-checkout

    • This topic was modified 10 months, 2 weeks ago by  blliem.
    • This topic was modified 10 months, 2 weeks ago by  blliem.
    • This topic was modified 10 months, 2 weeks ago by  blliem.
Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Plugin Support nixiack8

    (@nixiack8)

    Hi there,

    Sorry for the wait on this response! According to PayPal API information on Error 10736 it does show the issue as the buyer is entering the shipping information incorrectly, as you mentioned.

    The solution is to use a drop down menu for known cities that Paypal checks in USA, Brazil, Canada (so far that I come across that checks for cities). However, Prestashop is not willing to make city as a drop down menu as it will take a long time to load the address form page as mentioned in forge.prestashop.com.

    Unfortunately PrestaShop is not something we control, and you will have to link up with them regarding this issue. You can reach them at this link.

    If you need any assistance with the plugin in WooCommerce please let us know!

    hello,
    I was just trying to explain that it is a well known problem, so I guess on WordPress also.
    Of course I do not use prestashop and have nothing to do with it.
    But don’t you think that it can be a problem with worpdress also ?!
    Thanks.

    The only part of my former message that should be considered is:
    Hello, I found that when an address in not exactly what Paypal wants, the order cannot be confirmed and paid.

    I find this not so good as customers should be able to pay anyway, then it’s my problem to fix their address later.

    Do you know how Paypal checks the customer address and how big is the risk that the address is refused because of typo or any small problem ?

    Is there a way to avoid this useless check ?

    Thank you.

    Plugin Support John Coy

    (@johndcoy)

    Automattic Happiness Engineer

    Hi @blliem

    PayPal has addressed some of these issues like allowing the abbreviation of Mount with Mt. but the required proper spelling is still required by PayPal.

    Our recommendation would be to use a plugin like Postcode/Address Validation
    for address verification, auto-complete, and postcode lookup.

    https://woocommerce.com/products/postcodeaddress-validation/

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • The topic ‘PayPal error (10736): PayPal rejected your shipping address because…’ is closed to new replies.