Support » Fixing WordPress » No Content in The Edit Window

  • evodawg2018

    (@evodawg2018)



    Been at this all day. And have checked this forum for a solution. When I click into pages and try to edit the window comes up but with no content in the window. If I click on the view button on the top menu my front page site loads up with no problems. When I click on the edit button on the top menu again the edit window comes up with all the menu but no CONTENT. I have tried to disable all my plugins along with clearing my cache and cookies in my Firefox web browser. Have also disabled AD blocking. Still to no avail. All I want to do is edit the HTML so I can add Tags or Anchors in order to install a scrolling menu on a one page site. Also installed a troubleshooting plugin and nothing. Any solution to this problem would be greatly appreciated…..

    The page I need help with: [log in to see the link]

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Moderator t-p

    (@t-p)

    This may be a plugin or theme conflict. Please attempt to disable all plugins, and use one of the default (Twenty*) themes. If the problem goes away, enable them one by one to identify the source of your troubles.

    If you can install plugins, install “Health Check”: https://wordpress.org/plugins/health-check/ On the troubleshooting tab, you can click the button to disable all plugins and change the theme for you, while you’re still logged in, without affecting normal visitors to your site.

    evodawg2018

    (@evodawg2018)

    Already installed “Health Check” which does disable the plugins with no difference. I did not see the change theme button, unless it does that when plugins are disabled. Is that what happens???

    Moderator t-p

    (@t-p)

    evodawg2018

    (@evodawg2018)

    Just read the info on the guide. Will try to spend more time with it tomorrow when I have more time. Will also post some of the debug info here and hopefully get down to the bottom of this problem…

    Thanks!!!

    evodawg2018

    (@evodawg2018)

    Opened up “Health Check” and there is errors on the Loop Back. Not sure how to address that? Do I post the Debug info here?

    Moderator t-p

    (@t-p)

    Does your host allow loopback connections?

    evodawg2018

    (@evodawg2018)

    Not sure will contact them and ask

    evodawg2018

    (@evodawg2018)

    This is what I got from Tech. Help from the iPage server that hosts my website

    I recommend you to contact and have plugin provider allow one of the currently supported ciphers;

    DHE_RSA_AES_128_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_RSA_AES_128_CBC_SHA256
    DHE_RSA_CAMELLIA_128_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_RSA_AES_256_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_RSA_AES_256_CBC_SHA256
    DHE_RSA_CAMELLIA_256_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_RSA_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_DSS_AES_128_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_DSS_AES_128_CBC_SHA256
    DHE_DSS_CAMELLIA_128_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_DSS_AES_256_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_DSS_AES_256_CBC_SHA256
    DHE_DSS_CAMELLIA_256_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_DSS_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA1
    DHE_DSS_ARCFOUR_SHA1
    RSA_AES_128_CBC_SHA1
    RSA_AES_128_CBC_SHA256
    RSA_CAMELLIA_128_CBC_SHA1
    RSA_AES_256_CBC_SHA1
    RSA_AES_256_CBC_SHA256
    RSA_CAMELLIA_256_CBC_SHA1
    RSA_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA1
    RSA_ARCFOUR_SHA1
    RSA_ARCFOUR_MD5
    R

    So this is a plugin issue???
    V

    Yes. it is.

    Once the plugin provider allow any of this. It will start working.
    R

    you don’t know which plugin
    V

    Yes.

    It is health check’ plugin
    R

    Moderator Marius L. J.

    (@clorith)

    Hiya,

    So I had a quick look, as what you are describing sounds a lot like issues with the Gutenberg editor, and not with the Health Check Plugin (I’m afraid I don’t know how that became an issue, so I’ll not cover that here).

    From what it sounds like, you are experiencing a partial WSOD, often relating to one of two things: The REST API is unavailable, there are a lot of reasons why this may be the case, too many to list so let’s do some troubleshooting on that.

    The second possibility is a conflict somewhere. I know you mentioned trying by disabling plugins and such, but let’s do this in two steps just to be certain.

    Firstly, check your JavaScript console for errors when visiting the editor page, how to do this can be seen in step #3 of our JavaScript debugging guide (you can ignore the other bits).

    If it looks fine, you may wish to check your error logs. Where these are I can’t say for certain, as it varies between hosts, but if you have a Control Panel of some sort from your provider, it’ll likely have a dedicated button for viewing it.

    I’ll also note that I had a quick check of your sites REST API responses, and it doesn’t look like the API it self is locked, but it’s also not giving any data, which indicates that something is either manipulating the output of it, or there’s a really weird attempt at blocking it going on, so please test the two steps above for us and let us know the information from them.

    I looked into the areas you mentioned. And I’m a little overwhelmed. Although I built my own website, some of this tech stuff is a little above my pay grade. My site is only a one page website and not sure I really have to have a menu to navigate it. I would love to fix these problems but not sure I’ll have time till the weekend. My site is loading and loading pretty fast due to me spending tons of time getting it that way. Now I’m faced with WSOD possibly? Geez what next?

    You wrote, “Firstly, check your JavaScript console for errors when visiting the editor page, how to do this can be seen in step #3 of our JavaScript debugging guide (you can ignore the other bits).”

    Is this something I do in the Fire Fox Browser? And when I tried I did not have some of the options in the drop down menus in Firefox. I do have the Web Developer installed but in the guide not all the options were there.

    Also checked my Host for Error Logs and they don’t have that option either. So I might be up the creek without a paddle. If there are any alternative please advise. If not I’ll try to spend time with this over the weekend…

    Thank you very much for getting me this far….
    Rich

    See below output for Browser Console

    • This reply was modified 4 weeks, 1 day ago by  evodawg2018.
    
    TypeError: this.transport is null: send@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/main.js:1498:5
    _sendEvent@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/protocol.js:997:5
    Actor/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/protocol.js:971:40
    emit@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/event-emitter.js:178:37
    emit@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/event-emitter.js:255:29
    addSecurityInfo@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/network-event.js:363:5
    NetworkResponseListener.prototype._getSecurityInfo<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/webconsole/network-monitor.js:519:5
    exports.makeInfallible/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:109:14
    onStartRequest@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/webconsole/network-monitor.js:439:5
    event-emitter.js:183:13
    emit
    resource://devtools/shared/event-emitter.js:183:13
    emit
    resource://devtools/shared/event-emitter.js:255:29
    addSecurityInfo
    resource://devtools/server/actors/network-event.js:363:5
    NetworkResponseListener.prototype._getSecurityInfo<
    resource://devtools/shared/webconsole/network-monitor.js:519:5
    exports.makeInfallible/<
    resource://devtools/shared/ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:109:14
    onStartRequest
    resource://devtools/shared/webconsole/network-monitor.js:439:5
    TypeError: this._extraPools is null[Learn More] main.js:1517:5
    Error: WebExtension context not found! ExtensionParent.jsm:1014:13
    JQMIGRATE: Migrate is installed, version 1.4.1 load-scripts.php:9:542
    The Components object is deprecated. It will soon be removed. post.php
    Warning: attempting to write 946629 bytes to preference devtools.debugger.tabs. This is bad for general performance and memory usage. Such an amount of data should rather be written to an external file. This preference will not be sent to any content processes.
    Error: WebExtension context not found! ExtensionParent.jsm:1014:13
    JQMIGRATE: Migrate is installed, version 1.4.1 load-scripts.php:9:542
    The Components object is deprecated. It will soon be removed. post.php
    Warning: attempting to write 946629 bytes to preference devtools.debugger.tabs. This is bad for general performance and memory usage. Such an amount of data should rather be written to an external file. This preference will not be sent to any content processes.
    [Show/hide message details.] Promise rejected after context unloaded: Promised response from onMessage listener went out of scope
    content-script.js:24
    [325]/t.send/<
    moz-extension://dc5c44ed-de15-4187-884f-45a223ac4a2e/build/content-script.js:24:2987
    Error: WebExtension context not found! ExtensionParent.jsm:1014:13
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist. chrome.js:89
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.
    chrome.js:97
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist. chrome.js:89
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.
    chrome.js:97
    Handler function DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange threw an exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE) [nsIWebProgress.DOMWindow]"  nsresult: "0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE)"  location: "JS frame :: resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js :: _docShellToWindow :: line 800"  data: no]
    Stack: _docShellToWindow@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:800:11
    _docShellsToWindows/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:827:38
    _docShellsToWindows@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:827:12
    _notifyDocShellsUpdate@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:831:21
    DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:1683:7
    exports.makeInfallible/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:109:14
    Line: 800, column: 0 ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:88:5
    Handler function DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange threw an exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE) [nsIWebProgress.DOMWindow]"  nsresult: "0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE)"  location: "JS frame :: resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js :: DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange< :: line 1686"  data: no]
    Stack: DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:1686:11
    exports.makeInfallible/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:109:14
    Line: 1686, column: 0 ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:88:5
    Handler function DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange threw an exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE) [nsIWebProgress.DOMWindow]"  nsresult: "0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE)"  location: "JS frame :: resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js :: _docShellToWindow :: line 800"  data: no]
    Stack: _docShellToWindow@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:800:11
    _docShellsToWindows/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:827:38
    _docShellsToWindows@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:827:12
    _notifyDocShellsUpdate@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:831:21
    DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:1683:7
    exports.makeInfallible/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:109:14
    Line: 800, column: 0 ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:88:5
    Handler function DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange threw an exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE) [nsIWebProgress.DOMWindow]"  nsresult: "0x80004002 (NS_NOINTERFACE)"  location: "JS frame :: resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js :: DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange< :: line 1686"  data: no]
    Stack: DebuggerProgressListener.prototype.onStateChange<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/server/actors/targets/browsing-context.js:1686:11
    exports.makeInfallible/<@resource://devtools/shared/base-loader.js -> resource://devtools/shared/ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:109:14
    Line: 1686, column: 0 ThreadSafeDevToolsUtils.js:88:5
    JQMIGRATE: Migrate is installed, version 1.4.1 jquery-migrate.min.js:2:542
    Loading failed for the <script> with source “https://secure.quantserve.com/quant.js”. no-content-in-the-edit-window:1
    The Components object is deprecated. It will soon be removed. no-content-in-the-edit-window
    The Components object is deprecated. It will soon be removed. follow_button.html
    The Components object is deprecated. It will soon be removed. like.php
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist. chrome.js:89
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.
    chrome.js:97
    Security Error: Content at moz-nullprincipal:{3e83a30e-b38e-4802-9a07-3643e52acff4} may not load or link to resource://devtools/server/actors/network-event.js:363:5.
    NS_ERROR_DOM_BAD_URI: Component returned failure code: 0x805303f4 [nsIWebNavigation.loadURIWithOptions] browser-child.js:352
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist. chrome.js:89
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.
    chrome.js:97
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist. chrome.js:89
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.
    chrome.js:97
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist. chrome.js:89
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.
    chrome.js:97
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist. chrome.js:89
    [Show/hide message details.] Unchecked lastError value: Error: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.
    chrome.js:97
    
    • This reply was modified 3 weeks, 3 days ago by  Marius L. J.. Reason: Added code tags for readability
Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.