Support » Plugin: Expand + Collapse Funk » Messy in the editor!

  • I was hopeful for this plugin but the mark-up produced via the editor button becomes messy if you’re adding one collapsible content after another.

    I added two test inputs and ended up with with nesting resulting in the functionality for each breaking:

    <div class="exp-col-content-holder">
    
    <a class="expand-cnt-link" href="#">test</a>
    <div class="hidden-content">
    <p class="hiddenContentp">test</p>
    
    <div class="exp-col-content-holder">
    
    <a class="expand-cnt-link" href="#">test 2</a>
    <div class="hidden-content">
    <p class="hiddenContentp">test 2</p>
    
    </div>
    </div>
    <p class="hiddenContentp"></p>
    
    </div>
    </div>

    The editor button needs to produce a short-code, NOT mark-up, to avoid messy mark-up.

    The expected shortcode syntax would eliminate this issue and save the user from manually having to correct the mark-up.

    I’ve opted for this plugin instead: https://wordpress.org/plugins/azurecurve-toggle-showhide/

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Plugin Author Evan Herman

    (@eherman24)

    Hi,

    Thank you for the feedback. Had you requested support I would have been glad to provide you with some details on how to use this plugin with shortcodes (as the 2.0 version of the plugin has shortcodes baked in, including nested shortcodes) instead of via the markup you mention.

    I would also appreciate it if you could refrain from marketing additional third party plugins here.

    Thanks!
    Evan

    To say I’m “marketing” another plugin is hyperbolic, reactionary and in all honesty, transparently passive aggressive. I merely referenced the alternative solution I opted for.

    That aside, you’re right regarding the mark-up. It would have been more constructive to submit my grievance as a support request rather than a review.

    Regrettably, I didn’t realize that review ratings can’t be be retroactively amended. If you can fathom a way around this, I’d be happy to retrial and “re-review” your plugin.

    Nonetheless, I appreciate your effort and time in contributing to the open source community.

    Plugin Author Evan Herman

    (@eherman24)

    Thank you for considering to re-try the plugin once I get things re-worked. I am in the process of re-writing the plugin so that by default, the shortcodes are supported and inserted.

    You are correct in that shortcodes are the better way to go. This was one of the first plugins that I had released to the repository, so the code is less than stellar and I can agree with that.

    The re-write and subsequent release will not disappoint.

    Thank you again for the review and for the constructive criticism. It will only help to make the next release better for our users.

    Evan

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • The topic ‘Messy in the editor!’ is closed to new replies.