Malware message pop up (4 posts)

  1. stewart-2011
    Posted 4 years ago #


    I had no problems getting on to my blog yesterday but today I have been unsuccessful due to a pop up message alerting me of a possible Malware risk.

    I flushed my DNS files - this had no effect
    I have updated my machine to latest virsons - this had no effect
    I have run a virus scan on my hard drive - this had no effect

    Other people using Windows can access my blog however I cant - I am using a mac.

    My blog link is http://www.fablephotos.co.uk/wordpress

    The message that comes up is the same as the one on this link http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?287104-Thomas-Distributing-site-distributing-malware

    I need to know how to remove it as I cannot get into my blog to repost

    Hope you can help

  2. Xam 1.0
    Posted 4 years ago #

    I'm on windows and for me the site works fine. Usually this kind of problem does mean you are infected by some sort of virus or malware. So flushing dns etc doesn't help. Try installing another virus-scanner, disable the one you are using now, disconnect from the internet and do a full scan, see what that does.

  3. ebkr
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Hi, im having same problem, someone put on a counter i cant find to get rid of it..What is a good anti virus/virus scanner for my site? Thanks..

  4. Elieka
    Posted 4 years ago #

    There's a very good chance that the problem you guys are encountering is related to the TimThumb vulnerability. This vulnerability effects a number of WordPress plugins and themes.

    For information on how to clean it up see this thread. Ipstenu has some very helpful tips in there.

    There's a little more information on the vulnerability itself here.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic