Support » Plugin: Affiliates Manager » Mailchimp integration not working correctly

  • Resolved natip100

    (@natip100)


    So I filled out the support form for the plugin website last week sometime and I have still not gotten a response. I hope that at least someone here can help me.

    I have the free version of the plugin with the free Mailchimp integration add on. I have the option selected to opt-in my affiliate applicants to my Mailchimp audience. What has happened is that, when I test apply to be an affiliate, I get a non-verified (DKIM and SPF verification failure) email that gets flagged as possible spam and is sent from, “marketing@mywebsite.com via mail13.mcsignup.com”. The strange thing is that I have verified my domain via DKIM and SPF with Mailchimp and all other messages I send from Mailchimp (e.g. via my Woocommerce integration) are verified. It is only this plugin that has issues.

    The second issue is that I get sent a 2 step opt in email. The thing is that I have specifically not selected for my Mailchimp opt in to be 2 step and I have not even setup 2 step opt in on Mailchimp so I have no idea how this plugin is seemingly overriding my Mailchimp preferences or even how I would go about adjusting this.

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Plugin Support mbrsolution

    (@mbrsolution)

    Hi,

    So I filled out the support form for the plugin website last week sometime and I have still not gotten a response.

    Which form did you fill in?

    Thank you

    I filled in the support form at this link.

    It appears that the Mailchimp signup verification email is now passing DKIM and SPF. I have no idea why because I did not change any settings but perhap sit had something to do with your update released a few days ago. Still, the problem remains that it is sending new applicants a 2 step opt in email from Mailchimp when I have neither enabled nor setup 2 step opt in emails on Mailchimp.

    Also, while we’re at it, I have encountered a few more problems with the plugin. Under the “messaging” tab in the settings, it seems to be totally out of sync with the actual messages that are being sent to my affiliates.

    For example, the “affiliate_application_submitted_email” body message is entered as, Your affiliate application has been submitted. [my company name] will be contacting you back soon.<br /><br />Thank you!<br />. The HTML code in this email is literally sent as plain text and displays exactly as is even though I am sending it to a Gmail account that should automatically be displaying HTML versions of emails.

    The same lack of HTML implementation is happening on my affiliate_application_declined_email which is literally showing the HTML code – We appreciate your time and effort in applying for the [my company name] affiliate program. Unfortunately, we were not able to approve your application at this time. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to us using our <a href="https://[my company name].com/support/">contact page</a>.

    Also, the “affiliate_application_approved_email” body text should show, Congratulations! Your [my company name] affiliate account for {blogname} has been approved! Username: {affusername} Password: {affpassword} Login URL: {affloginurl} Please log into your account to get a referral code and/or download creatives links. What it shows instead in the actual email received is,

    New affiliate registration for [my company name]: has been approved! Log into the site with your existing account and get started.

    and that is it. This is absolutely different than the email it should show and I have no idea where the actual wording sent is even coming from.

    Lastly, when I click to decline an application, the popup box is totally broken and displays the text offset to where I can’t even read the click box texts to choose the right option. You can view a screenshot of the box here. I am using Google Chrome browser.

    • This reply was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by natip100.
    Plugin Support mbrsolution

    (@mbrsolution)

    Hi,

    Also, while we’re at it, I have encountered a few more problems with the plugin. Under the “messaging” tab in the settings, it seems to be totally out of sync with the actual messages that are being sent to my affiliates.

    Have you customized any of the messages in your settings?

    Do you have other affiliate plugins installed in your site? Can you carry out the following troubleshooting steps test-for-plugin-and-theme-conflict-before-posting-an-issue-or-a-bug?

    Thank you

    Plugin Author affmngr

    (@affmngr)

    @natip100, We have not received any email from you unfortunately. Please send us another email so we can investigate this issue.

    Okay so you guys are telling me conflicting things. You’re trying to solve my problem here and tell me to resubmit a ticket on your site.

    To answer your question, yes, as is clearly depicted above, I have customized some of my email messages.

    Regarding the trouble shooting steps, I have now done those. The broken decline box issue seems to be related to a plugin of mine since, when I disable my plugins, the box loads correctly.

    Regarding all of the email issues, turning off my plugins and changing themes did not fix the issue.

    I will resubmit a ticket and upload screenshots if it lets me.

    Plugin Support mbrsolution

    (@mbrsolution)

    Hi,

    Okay so you guys are telling me conflicting things. You’re trying to solve my problem here and tell me to resubmit a ticket on your site.

    We are trying to help you as much as we can 🙂

    The developers will help you further after they receive your resubmitted ticket.

    Thank you for your patience.

    Kind regards

    I just submitted another ticket that stated the following:

    Hello, I previously submitted a ticket and you never got it. I reached out on the WordPress help forums and you told me to resubmit a ticket so here it is.

    I am continuing to have the same issues with the emails that the plugin generates.

    The first is that the HTML generated by the emails that you inserted there is not rendering when sent to the recipient and it just shows as plain text. The other issue is that the accepted message received by the applicant is literally completely different than the one entered in the settings.

    Here is an Imgur album of pics of what I am talking about since you do not allow for uploads on this form:

    https://imgur.com/a/lQ5EsPt

    I have done your troubleshooting steps by disabling all my plugins and changing themes to the twenty twenty theme and then testing the problem again. It still occured so this is obviously related to your plugin and not other plugin or theme incompatibilities.

    The ticket said it successfully submitted:

    Your message was sent successfully. Thanks.

    Since you did not receive my first ticket and that one said it successfully sent as well, I wanted to let you know here in case you did not get it again. Please verify with me that you received it.

    Plugin Author affmngr

    (@affmngr)

    @natip100, No email unfortunately. Can you please remove <br /> from content where the type is EMAIL? Our plugin doesn’t support HTML email at the moment.

    Okay, you should really fix your email ticket program because it is apparently completely broken when I try to submit one. That is not very professional.

    I am pretty sure that I am using your default messages that came with the plugin originally, HTML and all. Why would you add HTML to your default messages if you do not support HTML?

    Also, I would greatly appreciate if you added HTML support to your emails since this is a rudimentary basic for any modern plugin for business and marketing purposes. This is actually the first plugin I have come across that doesn’t support custom HTML in emails.

    Also, what about the fact that the accepted email text is completely different than it says it is supposed to be displaying in the settings? Whether you support HTML or not, it appears this email setting box is completely broken and unresponsive to any user input. Even worse, I am pretty sure that I am showing the default message you included (plus my brand name edited into it) and not even that is working.

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.