I'm getting users that I think are spammers? (4 posts)

  1. folgerj
    Posted 5 years ago #

    I enabled users to try some forum software and since I had to allow users to register on the site (to create logins for the forum) I've gotten about 8 that come from a bunch of domains from .RU or their emails have[email redacted] for their email address. If they are spammers can they break into the system.
    Is there and plugin that forces them to give a real email address so that they can receive a email at that address in order to be able to login?

    I'm not new to blogging just new to users. I don't want to get rid of them if they are real people but I'm not sure if they are real. I'm from the days of running a BBS (out of Okinawa) and I could talk to each and every person as they logged on and interact with them.

  2. webjunk
    Posted 5 years ago #


    Also after you register on Honeypot place some of the links within your template. It then helps everyone catching these people.

  3. folgerj
    Posted 4 years ago #

    thanks webjunk.. I did add this to my blogs and it works real well but how do you add it to the template? I can edit php but I would rather not since coding is not my forte.

    Also to anyone, I found a pingback to one of my sites and the article it comes from looks good and decent content... but when I go there I don't see any links to my site...

    Is this something new? Invisible Pingbacks? I did notice that they had a related links at the bottom of their post and these links while still having decent content were definitely more spammy.

    Should I unapprove the pingback as I have a 5pr and they have a 0 and may just be looking to up their PR at my expense...

    I get nervous with these "no-seeums" which to me are like black flies in spring, real annoying but they won't kill you.. :-)

    As I read the codex pingbacks are created when I put a link in my article... If I don't see a link on the receiving end does that mean a spammer?
    And what would you do????

    Jeff Foliage

  4. folgerj
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Also I think I found my answer.. when I click in their "search this site" box I automatically get shifted to club med website.. So I think it's safe to assume that this is a spammer or at least a very spammy writer.

    I would love to hear what everyone thinks... Am I over reacting?

    Oh and has anyone noticed that spam registrations from .info domains are on the rise?

    This is the url for the spammy website http://www.traveltheworldonabudget.info/road_trip_englands_fall_colors/
    (I assume this will be a no follow so it won't help them... If they get a follow out of this let me know and I'll delete it..

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic