Support » Plugin: Skip Confirmation On » If disabled, how to then let users know?

  • Resolved meadows19

    (@meadows19)


    Hello!

    On the plugin description, you wrote:

    In some circumstances, an admin might wish to set up one or more accounts in advance – perhaps for testing purposes – and only notify the users later, once everything is ready.

    My question is:

    How exactly do you let the members know, once everything is ready? Say you set up your members in advance, set up their roles etc. Once everything is ready, how do you tell them that they have an account and that they can log in? And presumably they will have to set a new password too. How is that all possible if you disable the emails?

    I feel like I’m missing something here, because I can’t find an option to send a new ‘welcome’ email to users after the fact.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Plugin Author Fidgety Lizard

    (@fliz)

    Hi there, good question! The way we do this is simply to use the standard “Lost your password?” link on the login page – so we fill in the relevant user’s username or email address, and then request a password reset email on their behalf. This gets sent to them in the normal way, and they can use the link in the email to choose their own password. (And there are other plugins for customising the standard WordPress email text if you want to go that route).

    Obviously if you had several thousand users, you might want a different solution! For example, you might have a a pro-forma email sent to all members at once, telling them to use the password reset form themselves (entering their email address if they don’t know their username), and giving a link to the password reset page.

    Thread Starter meadows19

    (@meadows19)

    Aha, that makes sense. Thank you for your reply.

    Thread Starter meadows19

    (@meadows19)

    By the way, I think allowing us to mute the notification if users are added from the Network Dashboard is a great idea.

    I’m not sure it’s currently possible to do this.

    It would make it easier to add all users (for all the various subsites) in one place, rather than having to add them each from their own subsite dashboards.

    So, another vote for this:

    NOTE TO MULTISITE SUPER-ADMINS: Adding a user from the Network Admin / Add User screen (rather than from a particular sub-site’s Add User screen) will always send a notification. If you think it would be useful to be able to suppress this, please leave us a message in the plugin forum.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • The topic ‘If disabled, how to then let users know?’ is closed to new replies.