Support » Plugin: The Events Calendar » Frustrating and overly complex

  • johnegg


    A terrible plugin. Bloats your sites, endless addons that don’t work well together and constant error upon error after updating it. Layouts breaking etc, I could go on. Just avoid.

    Edited to two stars as the support are very good in fairness.

    • This topic was modified 4 months, 2 weeks ago by johnegg.
Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Can only agree

    Plugin Contributor GeoffBel


    Hey @johnegg

    Thank you for taking the time to write and share your thoughts on the plugin.

    Needless to say that this is definitely not what we were hoping to achieve!

    We are sorry that you had a bad experience and, to be honest, a little surprised based on the interactions our support team had with you so far.

    As you can imagine, we are always interested in improving our plugins for you and for everyone else.

    As such, I would love to hear everything you have to say about the bloating of your sites, and how some add-ons did not work together well for you. I am also very interested in listening to the ideas you have in mind to make things simpler.

    Finally, you are right. There is nothing worst than having your website break (even partially) as a result of a plugin update.

    We highly recommend disabling any automatic plugin update on a WordPress website.

    Not just for our plugins, but ideally for most of your WordPress plugins.
    There are so many possible plugin/theme/customization combinations, that the best practice is to use a staging environment to test any update.

    Don’t get me wrong, some of our updates do contain bugs, much to our dismay.
    But you can always count on us to try to squash those as fast as possible.

    @curt2 please open a separate ticket so that we can take a look at how we can make things better for you in a dedicated manner.


    Thread Starter johnegg


    Hi Geoff

    Nothing wrong with your support, its very good in fact. But the plugin itself & the countless premium addons required to achieve what I feel should be inbuilt into the pro version leave a lot of room for error. Then upgrading the plugin itself or any of the addons causes havoc as they all need to be matched with version etc. Thats just my experience, im sure you have a lot of happy customers.

    Sorry after years of using it I just think there are simpler solutions out there now.


    Plugin Contributor GeoffBel


    Hey John,

    I really appreciate you taking the time to write back and share your perspective.
    It is super helpful. I am sure others feel that way too.

    You will be glad to know that throughout the WordPress community, there is currently a call for simplification of the end user experience (while maintaining the complexity for those who want it).

    We absolutely agree and to be honest, we certainly have a ton of room to grow there. Especially when it comes to upgrades.

    So thank you for your honest and genuine feedback.


Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this review.