Support » Plugin: Like Dislike Counter » Free vs Pro version of Like-Dislike Counter

  • [Updated Review] The newest free version (updated 3 weeks ago – or approximately Sep 10, 2013) is a great improvement over the original. The fast-clicking bug has been fixed, and the plugin installs normally, without the necessity of modifying the functions.php file. However, it is now possible for one person to vote multiple times from the same IP address after an interval of a few minutes. The plugin needs to check IP addresses, and it apparently does not.

    By default, the plugin displays both “Like” and “Dislike” with thumbs-up or thumbs-down icons after both posts and pages. That will probably suit most users.

    If you want to change the default behavior, choose “Use Template code.” This is for more experienced users, since you will have to modify your functions.php file in a child theme. You will have to find the post and comment sections in your file to add the code in the proper places. (Do not modify your main functions.php file, because it will be changed with the next theme upgrade.) There are no instructions in the plugin repository, only solicitations for the “Pro” version which has includes a widget showing popular posts.

    It does seem a bit self-serving for one of the developers to “review” the plugin (below my review) and give the plugin 5 stars!

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Even the Pro version still seems to have issues.
    See my post re the plugin not working in Chrome.

    Plugin Author SketchThemes



    Thanks Ingel for giving like dislike counter a good review.
    And sorry for the inconvenience you had in past. I didn’t got the notification of both of your post. Got your review and issue now.

    I have fixed the issue of you have mentioned in your review.

    The free version has a bug: Fast clicking will increment the counter up to 6x or so.

    Please try and check the updated version of Like Dislike Counter Lite. And let me know if you still see any issue.

    Also I have gone through your website and it seems working fine in chrome at my end, so please let me know if you are still facing any issue with with.


    Thanks, Tikendra. It (the Pro version) seems to be working better now in Chrome.

    However, see the problems I mentioned above:
    1) The plugin interferes with any length setting for excerpts on pages in my Weaver II Pro theme. It makes excerpts very long, and I can’t find a way to change it. (Yes, it’s this plugin! Deactivating the plugin made the problem go away.)

    2) It not only removes the link at the end of excerpts but also changes the chosen link text to default to […] (unlinked). Again, it’s a problem with this plugin, because deactivating it makes it go away.

    I’m currently looking for an alternative plugin. (Jetpack does more than I want it to, and it reportedly slows down sites even when many of the features are not active.)

    I’ll change my review if you can fix this.



    Forum Moderator

    @inge12 – as already mentioned in your other thread – these forums are not for Pro support, and Reviews are only for free versions as well.

    I’ll change my review if you can fix this.

    Further, that’s not the purpose or an appropriate use of Reviews here.

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • The topic ‘Free vs Pro version of Like-Dislike Counter’ is closed to new replies.