Support » Plugin: SG Optimizer » Existing Images Optimization Without My Consent

  • Resolved mkroboth

    (@mkroboth)


    Hello,

    I am a SiteGround customer and I am experiencing the same issue as this person here did -> https://wordpress.org/support/topic/existing-image-optimization-functionality-unclear/

    All of a sudden I saw this message under Image Optimization -> Existing Images Optimization:

    “All images in your Media Library have been optimized successfully! Force re-optimization of your images” with a green checkmark.

    I never clicked that button!

    Some backstory:

    I had a small website on SiteGround’s hosting platform over the past couple / few years.

    I never utilized any of the features beyond caching on the SG Optimizer plugin and I know the New Images Optimization AND Existing Images Optimization were both turned off / never activated.

    I started taking down this website last week as I am redoing it.

    As part of this process, I deleted the theme, pages and posts, old plugins, all images from both the admin media library and the wp content uploads folder, etc.

    I also ran a database cleaner / optimizer (Optimize Database after Deleting Revisions).

    I was in the SG Optimization plugin as part of this process to turn off all caching as I was activating the WP Maintenance plugin and they recommended turning off all caching plugins when their plugin was in active status and that’s when I saw the change.

    Going forward:

    As I build this new website I WILL be using the “New Images Optimization” feature BUT I just want to make sure this bug won’t affect my website going forward… Is it ok for me to start building or is there something I need to do first before going forward.

    I don’t want to start building and then experience issues because of this issue as I am on a tight schedule.

    Please advise and thank you, in advance, for your help!

    Mike

Viewing 1 replies (of 1 total)
  • Plugin Author Hristo Pandjarov

    (@hristo-sg)

    SiteGround Representative

    Thanks for reporting this.

    That’s a bug within our plugin, the notice is shown when no tasks for optimizations are left but since it was never enabled in first place it is misleading. So in your case you should not see that message. We will patch it and add a fix in the next update.

Viewing 1 replies (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.