Support » Plugin: AWPCP - Classifieds Plugin » Does not work correctly

  • WITH THE newest version of wordpress the payment settings will not save and several other areas do not save either. Spending time configuring only to find this out is a seriously big waste of your time> This was an awesome plugin and I really liked it, but I think that it needs a bit more work.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Plugin Author awpcp

    (@awpcp)

    Hi @ghostinthemachine3,

    I’m sorry you had a negative experience here. This seems more like a support issue which we could have handled differently had you submitted it directly.

    Looking at your account, it seems that you purchased our software back in 2016 and didn’t update it or WordPress until recently. That’s definitely not a recommended practice, and while it may have worked for awhile, AWPCP has never promised to be “infinitely backward compatible” with any version of WP. In fact, no WP plugin or theme that I’m aware of is really good at doing that.

    We provide a good product at a reasonable cost, and part of that cost is annual maintenance that provides you with updates that would likely bring your site back to working. WordPress is CONSTANTLY changing and releasing updates so we are forced to keep up with that, as well as manage conflicts with other plugins and add fixes and so on. We support our efforts through those fees and that’s why we’re still around after 7 years on WP, with no sign of slowing down.

    Over 60% of plugins on WP end up not being maintained and end up abandoned. That’s not us and we don’t plan to go there. But in order for that work, we do ask that you perform regular updates on your site and also keep up with your maintenance for AWPCP. We have a major update for it coming this summer, so if you want to upgrade then, you’ll absolutely need updated maintenance for that.

    Again, I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you after 2 years with us. If you wish to revisit this, we’re happy to talk about your options to get your site back up, especially since you said “This was an awesome plugin and I really liked it”.

    I’m not sure where you got that information or how you would follow my email address to a specific site. I’ve built hundreds so that was a nice try but to be honest It kind of insults and irritates me. Finding a “blame the client” mentality even when you haven’t a clue whether that is true or taking an offensive stance tells me that if you had answered my email you probably couldn’t have helped. I’m not sure where you found the information about my sites, however I would comment that it’s quite likely that you have the wrong customer. I do this for a living. I update most of my sites except the ones I turn over to a client.

    the site that I was talking about was not left alone and neglected or not updated. It was built less than 2 weeks ago with a just downloaded version of your plugin. Also I did send an email to the company. I received no response. That was when I decided to comment here. thank you for your response.

    Plugin Author awpcp

    (@awpcp)

    Hi @ghostinthemachine3,

    My apologies for what seems like some crossed wires here…

    I received an email 3 days ago from someone who posted nearly identical information and we responded yesterday about it (to their email). If that was not you, please accept my most sincere apologies. Since we don’t have emails to match up, I had to take a good guess and that doesn’t always work. I’m human and get things wrong too.

    I don’t believe we received any email from you, if your name isn’t Howard (that’s the one I got). The internet can be a flaky place sometimes…

    If you have something 2 weeks old and it’s not working, then we need to absolutely address that. We have updated AWPCP recently and if you’re having issues, a support ticket is the best way to handle that.

    Can we please try again? Our goal is to make you successful with the plugin and we got off to a rough start here because of an unfortunate coincidence in support tickets with reviews.

    Please contact us here ASAP. We can get this resolved for you no problem: Contact us here: http://awpcp.com/contact/

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 8 months ago by awpcp.
    • This reply was modified 1 year, 8 months ago by awpcp.

    Thank you for your comments. Most assuredly that was not me. I’ve never complained about a plugin in my life, particularly a free one– unless that would be the only way to get any kind of notice.

    I work primarily in open source– for more than 15 years and am profoundly appreciative of any and all of the coding and effort that goes into the plugins.

    As someone who has worked with wordpress on the documentation and teaching for about 9 years , I also know the rate at which plugins are abandoned and while I thank you for that information as well, it wasn’t unknown to me.

    At no time did you respond to my ticket and I know that because I waited several days hoping that you would. I will address the issue by a reply email and identify myself. My user name here is markedly different than my email address. Thank you for your comments. I will address this with you via private emails.
    Regards to you and your team.

    Plugin Author awpcp

    (@awpcp)

    Our response time on email is almost always 24 hours M-F, so if you haven’t heard from us by then, try a different email and submit the request again, or re-post in a support thread in the forum: http://awpcp.com/forum/. We’re really good at responding, but Junk Filters are also really good at hiding things too…it’s a game no one wins at.

    Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    Plugin Author awpcp

    (@awpcp)

    Hi @ghostinthemachine3,

    I haven’t received anything from you yet. Did you try and contact us?

    Please let me know.

    Plugin Author awpcp

    (@awpcp)

    Hi @ghostinthemachine3,

    I checked again and I haven’t seen any contacts from you matching this description. We’re happy to help, but it’s hard if we’re not connecting here.

    Please let me know.

    Plugin Author awpcp

    (@awpcp)

    Hi @ghostinthemachine3,

    Looks like it’s been almost 2 weeks…I haven’t heard from you since then, so I’m guessing you must have moved on. If you wish to revisit this, please let me know.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • The topic ‘Does not work correctly’ is closed to new replies.