Support » Plugin: Yoast SEO » Database structure is terrible

  • boutzamat

    (@boutzamat)


    All SEO data is saved in wp_options table (for terms anyway) in an array, instead of per term meta.
    This makes it an absolute hell to migrate to a new installation if the site is not cloned 1:1.
    Terrible design.

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Plugin Support monbauza

    (@monbauza)

    Hi @boutzamat,

    Thank you for your feedback. We’ve created a new report in our private repository with the information you’ve provided.

    What’s next?
    Our product team will asses the report in relation to other open bug reports and new features. Based on their assessment, the report will be given a priority. Our developers work on the highest priority first. Unfortunately, this means we cannot give you an estimate if or when they’ll start working on the report.

    If you have any further information that may affect the prioritization, please feel invited to reply to this comment.

    Thanks for the reply.

    You can tell the developers that WP has a add_term_meta / get_term_meta function that the devs can use to store Yoast SEO data per term.

    Saving everything in a serialized array in the wp_options table is something i wouldn’t dare to expect from a professional plugin developer 🙂

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this review.