Support » Plugin: WooCommerce EU VAT Assistant » CRITICAL Currency conversion error

  • Resolved envox

    (@envox)


    Hi, after few days of testing without any issue I started to receive today the following error, that produce “Internal Server Error” on checkout. EUR is set as default WooCommerce currency, and USD and HRK is selected as alternatives.
    Thanks a lot in advance for assistance

    2021-03-18T17:00:02+00:00 CRITICAL Currency conversion - Source currency not valid or exchange rate not found for: "USD". Please make sure that the EU VAT assistant plugin is configured correctly and that an Exchange Rate has been specified for each of the available currencies.Stack trace: #0 /srv/www.envox.eu/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php(292): Aelia\WC\EU_VAT_Assistant\WC_Aelia_EU_VAT_Assistant->convert()
    #1 /srv/www.envox.eu/wp-includes/plugin.php(212): WP_Hook->apply_filters()
    #2 /srv/www.envox.eu/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce-eu-vat-assistant/src/lib/classes/order/order.php(289): apply_filters()
    #3 /srv/www.envox.eu/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce-eu-vat-assistant/src/lib/classes/order/order.php(325): Aelia\WC\EU_VAT_Assistant\Order->update_basic_vat_data()
    #4 /srv/www.envox.eu/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce-eu-vat-assistant/src/plugin-main.php(910): Aelia\WC\EU_VAT_Assistant\Order->update_vat_data()
    #5 /srv/www.envox.eu/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce-eu-vat-assistant/src/plugin-main.php(1243): Aelia\WC\EU_VAT_Assistant\WC_Aelia_EU_VAT_As in /srv/www.envox.eu/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce-eu-vat-assistant/src/plugin-main.php on line 808
Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Plugin Author Diego

    (@daigo75)

    Usually, that error occurs because the site is running a multi-currency plugin not supported by the EU VAT Assistant. The EU VAT Assistant only supports our Aelia Currency Switcher and won’t see additional currencies introduced by other plugins, therefore it won’t fetch exchange rates for them, causing the error. The following posts explains this in more detail: https://wordpress.org/support/topic/faq-eu-vat-assistant-and-multiple-currencies/.

    Please keep in mind that multi-currency plugins other than our Currency Switcher are not officially supported. Due to that, we can’t offer our assistance when the EU VAT Assistant is used with them.

    Thread Starter envox

    (@envox)

    Thanks to clarification. It seems that it works fine until latest update (2.0.14.210317) what was applied today. BTW, we are using “Currency Switcher for WooCommerce” from WP Wham.

    Plugin Author Diego

    (@daigo75)

    As explained, the EU VAT Assistant doesn’t include support for any multi-currency plugin other than our own Aelia Currency Switcher. The plugin by WP Wham is not supported by us, therefore the EU VAT Assistant won’t “see” the additional currencies introduced by it.

    Nothing has changed, from the multi-currency perspective, in the latest updates. They were minor updates, focused entirely on the JavaScript running on the checkout page, and can’t affect the backend logic, which runs when an order is placed.

    We can’t say why the error didn’t occur before, but it’s possible that, until now, orders were processed in your shop’s base currency, thus not triggering the need for a currency conversion. Another possible explanation could be that, perhaps, someone implemented the workaround described in the article I sent earlier, and that workaround has been removed by accident.

    In both cases, the workaround in the article linked above could help fixing the issue. I just need to reiterate that we can’t provide guarantees, from that perspective, as the workaround refers to multi-currency plugins not developer or supported by us.

    Side note: we’re aware that the fact that there are different multi-currency plugins with the same name as ours can cause confusion. Our Currency Switcher was the first to be released, back in 2013, then several others came out, and took the same name to leverage its popularity. Unfortunately, we only encourage other developers to change their name, but we can’t force them to do that.

    Thread Starter envox

    (@envox)

    Happily moved to your currency switcher. Everything works so far 😉

    Plugin Author Diego

    (@daigo75)

    @envox Thanks for your feedback. We will remain available in case you have any questions.

    Please just keep in mind that the Currency Switcher is a premium plugin, and we can’t offer our support service here. Please feel free to use our contact form, if you need to reach us in relation to that product: https://aelia.co/contact.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.