Comment Spam "Virus" Going Around (5 posts)

  1. Lorelle
    Posted 11 years ago #

    I got three of the same comments in the same post yesterday, but all are from different email addresses but the same website. It featured a phone number and name with instructions to call, which I called and they told me that this is a "virus" or something that is spreading around all over the net and the man listed in the comment has gotten phone calls from Russia, the US, and Europe regarding these. The message sounds serious. It's an investment (the good kind) company and looked very good (and closely related to what we do), so I called them.

    The message looks like this, with the name and numbers faked:

    Please call me at X10.XX9.XX69 - Fred Smith/General Foreman

    The website is http://www.textron.com which is a legit site. Do not call them. This is not from them. They are really confused and upset about this, and I've recommended they do what they can to protect themselves since the information in the comments is legit, that this looks like a directed atttack.

    Anyway, I thought I'd let you all know. They are going to do what they can to figure out how to track this down, and if you get one of these and you are an expert at figuring out how this got to you, I'm sure any help would be appreciated.

    Most spam is ugly, but stuff that contains personal information and contact numbers that spreads across comment spam...I've never heard of this before and it isn't good.

  2. James Huff
    Support Representative
    Posted 11 years ago #

    It's not a virus, it's a spam bot. That's normal behavior. It happens all the time to every blog on the internet.


  3. moshu
    Posted 11 years ago #

    A new version of this scam?

  4. Lorelle
    Posted 11 years ago #

    That's why I put quotes on the "virus" part. It's a spam bot, but directly targetted with the "right" name and numbers.

    Nasty stuff. They have gotten hundreds of phone calls from all over the world.

    How do you report such a thing? I'd hate it if it happened to me.

  5. Lorelle
    Posted 11 years ago #

    I checked moshu, and it's a domestic US number, and not the same thing. Still, sucks.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic