Support » Plugin: Yoast SEO » Can you stop with your annoying notifications?

  • I really like how this plugin works, but you are becoming annoying with your notifications and other things I don’t need in my admin panel.

Viewing 15 replies - 46 through 60 (of 64 total)
  • Has this been done I am asking because it does not look like it…

    Plugin Support monbauza

    (@monbauza)

    Thanks for your comments and patience.

    Users who initially commented on this thread complained about a specific notification that the plugin showed whenever a new version was released. This type of notification informed of the new features/bugfixes included in the recent release. As of Yoast 15.7 (January 26th, 2021), these release notifications were removed from the plugin. If you’re still getting release notifications, we’d kindly ask you to make sure you’re running the latest version of the plugin – Yoast SEO v16.5.

    Besides release notifications (removed as explained above), Yoast SEO shows other types of notifications that are important for your site. For example, if you’re blocking search engines from indexing your website, Yoast SEO will warn you about this as this is a critical issue to your SEO. The notifications that appear under SEO > General can be hidden individually by clicking on the strikethrough icon that appears next to the notification.

    If you’re experiencing unexpected behaviour regarding notifications, i.e. , you’ve hidden a notification but it it gets reactivated after an update, we’d really appreciate it if you could create a new topic in the plugin forum. Our support team will look into the issue and assist you further.

    Thanks!

    @monbauza how to hide “Make sure you don’t miss out on traffic!” always I am getting this notification in my all posts or any modification to a post

    Plugin Support monbauza

    (@monbauza)

    Hi @shrini,

    Thanks for your comment.

    That notification appears when you move a post to the trash. The notification suggests you create a redirect to avoid a 404 error on the deleted URL which is not good for your SEO. This article discusses how to best handle deleted content on your website. The notification will go away when you refresh the page or, alternatively, you can close it by just clicking the X icon in the upper right-hand corner.

    sparky672

    (@sparky672)

    Besides release notifications (removed as explained above), Yoast SEO shows other types of notifications that are important for your site.

    JUST MAKE IT ALL STOP! PLEASE! I cannot tell you how many times I’ve had to hide the notification about integrating Yoast with WooCommerce. Why can’t I permanently delete this, one time, forever?

    I. DO. NOT. WANT. TO. INTEGRATE Yoast with WooCoomerce. Yet there it is again… and again… I’m about ready to delete the plugin.

    EDIT:

    This plugin kills the Yoast nonsense: https://wordpress.org/plugins/so-clean-up-wp-seo/

    • This reply was modified 10 months ago by sparky672.
    Plugin Support monbauza

    (@monbauza)

    Hi @sparky672,

    Thanks for your comment. If you’ve already hidden a Yoast notification (by clicking the crossed eye icon), this should no longer appear for you. We understand that you’ve hidden the notification several times and it keeps re-appearing. We can imagine know how annoying this could be.

    As this is unexpected behavior, we’d appreciate it you could create a new topic in the plugin forum so that our support team can look into why this is occurring on your website.

    Thanks!

    • This reply was modified 9 months, 3 weeks ago by monbauza.

    @sparky672 – Thanks for the suggestion. I haven’t heard about this plugin before, but from now on, I’ll strongly recommend it to all of my clients.

    @monbauza – my two cents: this is a 4-page thread with a very simple request made more than 1 year ago. And my clients still see those annoying messages (e.g. “An error occurred: unfortunately our Morphology feature is not working.”).

    I don’t think asking people requesting the same thing to open a new topic is a good way to handle the issue. And there are already sooooooo many threads just closed due to inactivity, not to the reported issue being solved.

    With this type of aggressive behavior the plugin owners/devs are doing, the only thing they’ll achieve is losing more and more customers to the competitor(s), and/or more and more Yoast users disabling all these annoying things with the Hide SEO Bloat plugin.

    Or, if the goal here is committing a very slow business suicide, then I have to say, they’re doing it very well.

    I will also advise all my clients not to use this plugin. Unfortunately, the developers seem to want to continue annoying the users. This is totally unacceptable!
    I will also use all my channels to make this known. Yoast SEO is not a recommendation, on the contrary!

    Plugin Support monbauza

    (@monbauza)

    Hi @lunule and @metasequoia,

    Thanks for your comments.

    The issue initially reported in this (long) thread was fixed. You shouldn’t receive notifications with information about recent releases every time the plugin gets updated.

    You can still receive a notification from Yoast SEO if the plugin detects an issue relevant to your site or your SEO. These notifications can be hidden and shouldn’t prevent you from using the plugin normally. We kindly ask our users to create a new topic if the forum if they run into a situation when they can’t hide a notification which would be unexpected behavior.

    In your case @lunule, the notification you’re receiving is about the morphology (word forms) feature which is a feature included in Yoast SEO Premium. Therefore, we’d appreciate it if you could contact our premium support for further investigation. They’ll look into the issue and help you fix it.

    Thanks!

    The issue initially reported in this (long) thread was fixed. You shouldn’t receive notifications with information about recent releases every time the plugin gets updated.

    Bull! I’m still getting BS notifications such as the inclusion of some random language that I couldn’t care less about. Options should be offered so the Admin can turn off what isn’t wanted/needed on their specific site. It’s piss poor UI and UX on the Admin side. If this isn’t fixed by the next iteration, I’m dumping it permanently. You’re not the only trick pony in this show!

    Two days ago, I unchecked a notice that suggested I enable auto-updates for Yoast. Today it’s back! What are you doing! This is annoying!

    Plugin Support monbauza

    (@monbauza)

    Thanks for your comments.

    @metasequoia did you deactivate and re-activate the Yoast SEO plugin? If you did, the notification for automatic updates will re-appear, even if you hid it before. Note that this is an important notice. If you have enabled automatic updates for WordPress, we also recommend enabling automatic updates for Yoast SEO. This way, you’ll make sure that WordPress and Yoast SEO will continue to run smoothly together. That said, if you don’t deactivate/re-activate the plugin, the notification should remain hidden.

    @kelleychambers We haven’t been able to reproduce the problem you described. Can you please create a new topic in the forum so that our support team can look further into it? It’d be helpful if you could include a screenshot of the notification and the steps you followed before the notification appeared, i.e. updated the plugin from version x to version y.

    Metasequoia

    (@metasequoia)

    No, I did not deactivate and re-active the plugin. And I also deactivated auto updates for all plugins. I manage updates with a 3rd party service.
    So every day Yoast is stressing my nerves with this annoying notification which comes back again and again. What are your developers doing all day? Fix this asap!

    Plugin Support monbauza

    (@monbauza)

    @metasequoia thanks for following up. We understand that in your case the notification reappears without deactivating/reactivating the plugin. Can you please create a new forum thread with additional information (i.e. including the name of the service you’re using to manage updates) so that our support team can look further into this? Thanks!

    D H

    (@darrenholmes)

    @kingmanu, thank you for this. I too came here to find a solution to this. Once you have more than a couple of plugins, the endless selly nags get to be overwhelming.

    There should be a option to defeat all nags that aren’t pertinent to existing functionality.

    Now i will scroll through the conversation to see if yoast changed their code to defeat your solution. Not saying that they’d do that, but…

Viewing 15 replies - 46 through 60 (of 64 total)
  • The topic ‘Can you stop with your annoying notifications?’ is closed to new replies.