Can I delete original site after implementing 301 redirects?
I am moving domains completely. I have successfully moved WordPress entirely to the the new domain and I’m getting ready to start implementing 301 redirect for each individual URL on the website (Google reccommends doing this rather than doing a blanket redirect on the domain name).
My question is not directly-WP related as it could be applied to non-WP sites, but it is about WP which is why I ask it here.
Once the redirects have taken place, can I simply delete the original website? Will the redirects still work when the original site is not there?
If anyone has experience redirecting an entire WordPress site I would really appreciate any info & tips on how you carried it out.
- The topic ‘Can I delete original site after implementing 301 redirects?’ is closed to new replies.