Support » Plugin: The Events Calendar » Bugs/suggestions for improvement when adding online events

  • Resolved Kenika



    I’m having an event that takes place online. This is what happens when I edit the event:

    – I unchecked “Show map”. Now there’s a big grey field. Doesn’t look nice. Would be better to just show nothing.

    – It’s impossible to hide the Google Maps link

    – I’d like to add a link to the website which is in the case of an online event the venue’s address. Unfortunately, the “website” field seems to have a bug: the link is shown in HTML, but is not clickable.

    – a custom field would be great. Something were you can write specific stuff about the venue like: “smokers bar, only adults”, “no registration required”, “use the backdoor” etc.


Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Plugin Contributor leahkoerper


    Hi Kenika,

    The issues you are seeing with the Google Map and Link are puzzling- unchecking the box should make those not show. I’m wondering if there’s something interfering there that is making them show. Have you tried deactivating other plugins to look for a conflict, or switching to a default theme like Twenty Twelve?

    If you can isolate this as an issue that’s inherent to The Events Calendar, we’d be happy to look into it further. Unfortunately, we can’t help troubleshoot conflicts here on the free forum. If you do find a conflict, you can try getting in touch with the developer of the theme or plugin and see if they can shed some light on the issue.

    We just released a hotfix to correct the issue with the venue website field. Please update The Events Calendar to 3.6.1. If your issue persists after you update, please let us know. Thanks for your patience and understanding while we got that fixed!

    If you want to add additional fields to your event meta, you might consider upgrading to Events Calendar PRO. The PRO plugin includes an Additional Fields feature that might suit your needs very nicely.


    Hi Leah!

    Awesome, the bug fix fixed everything: no Google map (and no grey field), no Goolge link, the website is displayed correctly.

    Thank you very much!
    Happy Wednesday!
    (Wednesday just started where I am.)

    Plugin Contributor leahkoerper


    Thanks fabulous news! Thanks for letting us know.

    If you have a minute or two, we would love it if you left us a review. Thank you for your support!


    Promised, I will… (and I’ll rate it with 5 stars)
    But I need to fix some issues with my theme first. The strangest one is that my main menu disappears in the calendar and list view.

    Plugin Contributor leahkoerper


    Good luck Kenika! Here are some resources that might be helpful:

    Themer’s Guide – provides an overview of how to customize the plugin’s frontend appearance.
    Tutorials – useful tips and tricks for changing how the plugin looks and behaves.
    Technical Docs – provides an overview of the classes and functions in each plugin


Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • The topic ‘Bugs/suggestions for improvement when adding online events’ is closed to new replies.