Forums » Plugin: Koko Analytics » Bugs and concerns

  • Resolved flaneuring

    (@flaneuring)


    The plugin used to be reliable with a sleek UI that worked beautifully. Now there are frequent updates and several bugs:

    • Defaults to tomorrow’s statistics, but “Today” is selected in the pulldown menu. To get today’s stats, I have to choose “Yesterday” in the menu.
    • Left/right arrow keys do not work to change date.
    • Within date selector menu, forward/back arrows do not work.

    I loved this plugin and I don’t pay for it, so I appreciate having it at all. But why did you ship a version that doesn’t work? Is there new ownership or a new dev team?

    • This topic was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by flaneuring.
    • This topic was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by flaneuring.
Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Plugin Support Harish Chouhan

    (@hchouhan)

    Hello,

    Thanks for reaching out to us.

    The ownership has not changed. We are adding new features to the plugin after a while and as such there could be few compatibility issues which is the nature of any open source software.

    Can you please check your browser console and share with us a screenshot of any errors you might see there?

    Thread Starter flaneuring

    (@flaneuring)

    Here’s a screenshot (using Mac/Safari):

    https://imgur.com/jwm5Luq

    • This reply was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by flaneuring.
    • This reply was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by flaneuring.
    • This reply was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by flaneuring.
    Plugin Author Danny van Kooten

    (@dvankooten)

    hello @flaneuring,

    Thank you for the feedback and sorry about the issues you have been experiencing.

    May I ask what UTC timezone offset you are in?

    I have a hunch that you have been having issues because you are in a positive UTC timezone offset, eg UTC+8. I am the only developer of the plugin and live in UTC+1, so sadly I’ve missed this during development.

    Plugin Author Danny van Kooten

    (@dvankooten)

    The timezone issues should have been addressed in version 1.3.1, which I just released.

    Unfortunately I was not able to replicate any of the other issues that you described and haven’t heard anyone else about having them. I’ve tried Firefox ESR, Google Chrome 118 and Microsoft Edge 118 but in all of them, navigation by arrow keys works as expected.

    Are you perhaps on a really old browser, like Internet Explorer 11?

    I also have some problems since today. The bars are suddenly displayed in red instead of blue. My number of visitors is 0, but 20 page views. But that does not work 100% anyway. And in the pages URLs it shows strange numbers and characters

    Plugin Author Danny van Kooten

    (@dvankooten)

    Hello @meike297,

    Please update to version 1.3.1 in which at least some of these issues are addressed. For the strange characters and numbers, please open a new topic (as per the WordPress.org forum rules, not for me personally) and include a screenshot of the issue.

    Thread Starter flaneuring

    (@flaneuring)

    I’m in UTC-4.

    I updated to the new version. On iPhone, Koko defaults to today’s date, so that issue is fixed.
    Still, arrow navigation in the date pulldown doesn’t work.
    Yesterday I was on the current version of Safari for Mac.

    • This reply was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by flaneuring.

    All changes came after the update.. Its not possible for me to upload a screenshot here. I can only upload images from URL?

    • This reply was modified 5 months, 2 weeks ago by meike297.
    Plugin Author Danny van Kooten

    (@dvankooten)

    I’ve just addressed two more issues in the development version of the plugin:

    • The “strange numbers and characters” (double encoding issue) showing up in the list of most viewed posts.
    • The date navigation for going to next and previous date range periods was not working if you were on the “today” or “yesterday” view. (That’s why it took me a while to find 😅. I was looking at all the longer ranges, like this week, last week, last month, etc.)

    We’ll push out an official plugin update for this tomorrow morning.

    @meike297 New visitors should be counted again as of version 1.3.1. To share an image on this forum, I usually upload it here and then include it from URL: https://imgbb.com/upload

    Thread Starter flaneuring

    (@flaneuring)

    Thanks for the quick responses.

    Hello Danny. I really tried but its not working.. I dont know why! So i will not start new topic. Its like another user already said in another topic: there are special characters and numbers in the pages, that are clicked. Its looking like this: “… &#8211...” or “&#038

    Plugin Author Danny van Kooten

    (@dvankooten)

    Hello @meike297,

    If you update to the version we just released (Koko Analytics 1.3.2) then this issue should be fixed. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. 🙂

    Thread Starter flaneuring

    (@flaneuring)

    Thanks for working on concerns that came up.

    Today with the new update, left arrow key works to go back in time, but right arrow key doesn’t do anything.

    Mac desktop/Safari

    Thread Starter flaneuring

    (@flaneuring)

    I know you said everyone wants something different on the dashboard. I have no interest in the top pages and referrers, and I think it just clutters the dashboard.

    What made this plugin great was that it stuck to the essentials and didn’t get in the way. I hope you keep this design philosophy. Good designers say no to a lot of ideas. Dieter Rams said: “Less, but better.”

    (I previously looked into donating to support the plugin but couldn’t find a way to do so.)

    Plugin Author Danny van Kooten

    (@dvankooten)

    @flaneuring You can disable the top posts and top referrers in the dashboard widget by adding the following snippet to your site.

    https://github.com/ibericode/koko-analytics/blob/master/code-snippets/modify-dashboard-widget/README.md

    In a future update there will be some settings for this, but we did not have enough time to get that ready for today’s update.

    The quick navigation going forward is fixed in the development branch of the plugin and will be included in the next official plugin release.

    As for donating to the plugin; we had an OpenCollective initiative for about 2 years but that only generated about $70 in donations in an entire year. That’s why we are now attempting a paid version with some more advanced features.

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.