Support » Plugin: picu - WordPress Photo Proofing Gallery » Beware: paid version auto renews without notification

  • cleobleu

    (@cleobleu)


    UPDATE: I’m updating my review to reflect my genuine appreciation that Picu stepped up to work with me to resolve the issue. Thank you, Claudio. 🙂

    I used the paid version for a wedding client in 2021 and it ended up not being the type of service I was looking for so I deleted the plugin.

    A year later, 2022, Picu.io auto-renewed my subscription without notification. When I saw the charge on my credit card statement, I reached out to request a refund and was denied (“our refund policy is 14 days maximum” Claudio wrote.)

    I feel this is a really shady way for a company to generate revenue.

    • This topic was modified 5 months, 4 weeks ago by cleobleu. Reason: company addressed my complaint
Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Plugin Author Claudio Rimann

    (@pandulu)

    Hey Christine,

    First, this is the wrong place for reviews about our pro version and is meant for reviews of the free plugin only.

    That being said, I’d like to clarify some things (sent you the same via email).

    1. When you bought picu Pro, you bought a yearly subscription which will auto-renew each year (as is pretty common with paid plugins, and is clearly communicated on our website, during checkout as well as in the terms you agreed upon).
    2. A notification email was sent to you, exactly 30-days before your subscription renewed.
    3. Your subscription was not cancelled and therefore got renewed about 40 days ago.
    4. Last week, we received your refund request, out of the blue, where you accused us of shady business practices.
    5. We asked some questions to clarify the situation and find out if maybe we missed something or made any mistake and also explained our refund policy.
    6. Instead of providing any answer at all, you reacted with this 1-star review.

    It is your responsibility to cancel a subscription if you do not use it anymore. (You wouldn’t expect Netflix to automatically cancel your subscription and delete your account, if you stopped watching anything for two months, would you? Even if that was the case, we have no way of knowing whether you are actively using picu/picu Pro.)

    I’m not sure, what exactly you hope to achieve with this “review”. It is in no way our intention to trick anyone, or do anything shady.
    We wouldn’t be here for very long, if we did.

    Moderator Yui

    (@fierevere)

    ゆい

    this is the wrong place for reviews about our pro version and is meant for reviews of the free plugin only.

    This is not true.
    Because free version is upselling commercial one, users can leave reviews for paid version.

    Plugin Author Claudio Rimann

    (@pandulu)

    Hey @fierevere
    Thanks for chiming in. I didn’t know that and thought the guidelines were more strict, but makes sense – thanks for the clarification!

    Moderator Yui

    (@fierevere)

    ゆい

    I have sent you some links using archieved post above. (You will get this message per email.)
    If you can find time to view them, you can get more familiar with guidelines, plugin reviews and how to handle them.
    Have a nice day.

    Plugin Author Claudio Rimann

    (@pandulu)

    @cleobleu To underline that we don’t have any bad intentions at all and are not in any way interested in doing anything shady, I just issued your refund, anyway.

    Also, we will see what steps we can take to make it even more clear, that all subscriptions auto-renew each year and maybe add another email notification on top.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this review.