Support » Plugin: Contact Form to Manage and respond to conversations with customers — Happyforms » Bait & Switch: Now the Worst Free Form Plugin

  • I received an email from Happy Forms stating that as of the 1.8.11 update, the following features are removed from the free version:

    • Scale, Rating, Story, Website Link, Table, Phone, Date & Time, Address, Title, Legal, Placeholder and Text Editor form parts

    • Redirect on submit setting

    • Fade submit button until valid setting

    • Google ReCaptcha integration

    • Response previews setting

    All current sites will have these functionalities removed if the plugin is updated, which is awful and will cripple any site that relied on Happy Forms.

    I certainly understand the push to get more users to upgrade to the paid plugin, but the way to do this is to add more features people expect to be “extra” such as payment integration, conditional logic, etc. A phone number field is such a basic feature that it should be an automatic include. There is no excuse for removing such an integral feature. Congratulations on having the only free form plugin for WordPress that puts a phone number field behind a paywall.

    I was already on the fence about dropping this plugin because of the unorthodox way it handles dropdown fields (come on, use a SELECT field like every form has used since like 1995, don’t reinvent the wheel) and this made my decision easier. I’m going back and removing Happy Forms from dozens of sites.

    • This topic was modified 2 years, 2 months ago by Paskadox.
Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Hey there, @paskadox 👋

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. We’re so sorry we’ve let you down!

    For what it’s worth, we have tried adding more and more features over many months of work to the paid product and that didn’t help the situation. So we decided, knowing it will frustrate some, to move several parts and several features to the paid product. It was the only way to go on supporting the free product in the years to come.

    So sorry about this! Let us know if you have any questions.

    Hey @paskadox,

    It’s Drew again. I just replied to your other review 🙂

    The reality is we tried this, but it didn’t work. We added several paid features over a 6 – 9 month period. For whatever reason, the free features were good enough for nearly everyone, and less than 50 out of 20,000+ active users upgraded. Maintaining HappyForms (not improving it) by providing bug fixes, support, and updates for WordPress compatibility costs somewhere around $15,000 – $20,000 per year in development time. There is simply no way we could continue providing that support while staying in business with 50 paying customers.

    Like I said, we screwed up and I’m sorry. I understand and appreciate your frustration and I wish we had handled this better.

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • The topic ‘Bait & Switch: Now the Worst Free Form Plugin’ is closed to new replies.