Support » Plugin: Easy Testimonials » ‘Bait and Switch’ much?

  • I’ve added many apps and this app is anything but ‘Easy’. More like ‘bait and switch’! You can’t put up a widget to create a form that your viewers can use to post a review unless you PAY (upgrade to ‘pro’) first…before you even know if the plugin will work for you. If you wanted money up-front, why didn’t you just say so at the beginning so people don’t have to waste their time going through all this. We won’t be ‘upgrade to pro’ unless we know how the plugin works first. Rubbish plugin!!!!

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Plugin Author richardgabriel


    Hey Mike!

    I’m sorry to hear you’re disappointed with the plugin, however I do feel being labeled a “bait and switch” is misleading and inaccurate. I want to be sure that anyone else reading understands that we are up front and do not “bait and switch” anyone.

    Being clear about the difference between the Free and the Pro plugin is something we are very up front about and take very seriously. In regards to your specific complaint, Mike, our Readme (visible before ever installing the plugin from the directory) says this:

    Pro Users: Add A Collect Testimonial Form To Your Website

    Collecting Testimonials can be a tedious job – fortunately, if you upgrade to Easy Testimonials Pro, adding a submit testimonial form to your website for users to submit Testimonials is a breeze! Users can even upload an image with their Testimonial! Easy Testimonials integrates with Really Simple Captcha and ReCaptcha to prevent spam testimonial submissions.

    Repeatedly throughout the plugin (immediately clear upon installation at our Welcome screen), the plugin’s documentation (on the readme as well as on our website, we are upfront about the cost and the difference in our Pro and Free features.

    Again, I am sorry you had a negative experience but I do feel that maybe you didn’t read the description or look at the instructions before installing the plugin, where the form being a Pro feature is clearly explained. I’m sorry we didn’t work out for you on this one.

    I wish you all the best!


    Thread Starter mike_hi


    Sorry you didn’t like my review….I just feel that my time was wasted and that you description was misleading. If you want money up front, you should ask for it. I stand by my ‘bait and switch’ statement. What good is a review plugin if your users can’t make a review. OH, you need to upgrade to pro for the most important thing.

    I found a great Testimonial plugin that does everything a basic website needs without having to ‘upgrade to pro’..and have to pay continuing fee every year. Folks, there are better testimonial plugins out there.

    Plugin Author richardgabriel


    Well, thank you for sharing your thoughts! We certainly don’t intend to waste anyone’s time and we’ll be sure to review our language to be clear enough about the differences in the two versions, so nobody does waste their time.

    The continuing fee is to maintain access to our support staff and software updates, after a year, and is a significantly reduced rate from the purchase price. We provide much more in addition to just a form in the Pro version, and I’m very sorry that the features in the Free version don’t match the set that you’re looking for.

    Thanks for giving us a try, even though it didn’t work out.

    All the best,

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • The topic ‘‘Bait and Switch’ much?’ is closed to new replies.