Support » Plugin: Business Directory Plugin » bait and switch

  • oregondoglife

    (@oregondoglife)


    I am looking for a business directory where people can post a review, so I was drawn to this plugin in WP’s free plug in respitory. What you get for free is extremely basic, and then you have to pay 60 dollars for each module to get the features that one would expect to be included, amounting to hundreds of dollars. From the download page there is nothing stating what is included for free and what you have to pay for. This is only discovered after you install the free version. If you sign up for their email training course that they push when you download the free version they state you will recieve a free module, but fail to mention it is only one specific module, not one of your choice. This feels much like bait and switch, anything to reel the customer into paying more and more. Is this deception and dishonesty? It feels that way to me and at the very least it is extremely frustrating. By most accounts this gentleman has great support and a pretty solid and stable product, but I will not pay through the nose for deceptive marketing. I am not interested in taking a week long course to learn how to use something that I have to pay 3 or 4 hundred dollars for. I want it to be as plug and play as possible, and I want to know what I am paying for before I download it, not after. I am the 14th person to give this a one star, and most of them are complaining about the same thing. See a pattern? This free version is simply a gimmick to pay for features that the plug in is useless without

Viewing 1 replies (of 1 total)
  • Plugin Author businessdirectoryplugin

    (@businessdirectoryplugin)

    Hi oregondoglife,

    I’m very sorry you had a negative experience with BD here. That’s not our goal.

    I would like to clear up some misconceptions you mentioned in your review for the benefit of future readers. I pointed these out before in our email conversation, which was laden with profanities and insults from email #1:

    From the download page there is nothing stating what is included for free and what you have to pay for.

    This is not true. We state on the main page for the plugin download which are the “premium” features here: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/business-directory-plugin/
    and here:
    http://businessdirectoryplugin.com/features/
    and here:
    http://businessdirectoryplugin.com/premium-modules/

    We also mention it in our email course over the 5 days that you receive emails, but since you unsubscribed after the first day, you might not have seen that. Deceit means someone would be actively hiding something and I’m not seeing that here.

    What you get for free is extremely basic, and then you have to pay 60 dollars for each module to get the features that one would expect to be included

    We provide a great deal in the free plugin:
    – The ability to create and manage listings
    – The ability to generate SEO for them
    – The ability to collect payments for listings through Authorize.net (yes, for FREE)
    – The ability to create fee plans
    – The ability to upload images and manage them
    – The ability to customize form fields
    – The ability to use a stylized theme or no theme
    – The ability to customize your templates if you prefer a custom look
    – The ability to import and export all of your listings via CSV files
    – Full responsive/mobile support
    – A number of widgets for featured, latest and random listings
    – A bunch of shortcodes to display things your way
    – Support for WPML
    – Support for translations and multiple languages

    It’s quite a full list of features and the directory is fully functional by itself. The premium modules are nice add-ons to make your directory professional and polished. But you can definitely start without them.

    It’s true that you don’t get everything for free–we have to eat and support our families too. We can’t do that if we give everything away. We provide a solid base plugin that allows you to get started and we have premium features you can add on as you wish, or get a great deal for the entire bundle at 60% off the price of individual modules.

    If you sign up for their email training course that they push when you download the free version they state you will recieve a free module, but fail to mention it is only one specific module, not one of your choice.

    I apologize if you missed it, but we clearly state which module you receive when signing up for the email course on the website here:
    Email course signup on all pages of businessdirectoryplugin.com

    No where on the website do we say it’s the module of your choice. I’m sorry that was confusing to you. We are not trying to cheat anyone here.

    I am the 14th person to give this a one star, and most of them are complaining about the same thing. See a pattern?

    I do see a pattern, but it’s mostly in the over 300 four and five-star reviews where folks are quite satisfied with our services, the value the plugin provides and the quality of the plugin. We have been in business for almost 5 years and the reason for that is we believe in creating quality software with excellent support. Over 60% of the plugins in the repository either lack support or become abandoned shortly after release. Ours has not and will not for the foreseeable future.

    Something like requires time and money, which we are able to provide because we charge for a solid product and service, which BTW you agree we provide here:

    By most accounts this gentleman has great support and a pretty solid and stable product

    Lastly,

    I am not interested in taking a week long course to learn how to use something that I have to pay 3 or 4 hundred dollars for

    I believe your math isn’t quite correct in this case. The plugin modules are $59.99 each for those who need only one, but they can be purchased in a bundle for the modest cost of 3.5 modules or $199.99. For that price, you get ALL of the modules and excellent support.

    We’re going to have to agree to disagree about the one star review being a fair assessment of BD in this case. I’m very sorry that BD wasn’t a good fit for you here–it sounds like a less expensive plugin would be a better fit for your needs and budget. I wish you luck with your search on finding a free directory plugin solution.

Viewing 1 replies (of 1 total)
  • The topic ‘bait and switch’ is closed to new replies.