• mariuszsoii

    (@mariuszsoii)


    The guy didn’t wanted refund the purchase, and had no reason for that. This module has serious limitation, which wasn’t clearly explained in documentation. I used [ redacted ] which is much more flexible and much more advanced.
    Not recommended!

    • This topic was modified 2 months ago by Jan Dembowski. Reason: Removed recommendation for other plugin. Do not do that
Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Plugin Author Northern Beaches Websites

    (@northernbeacheswebsites)

    Hi @mariuszsoii,

    I am sorry to hear that the pro version of the plugin didn’t meet your expectations.

    For the sake of clarity, I want to make things clear so should anyone come across your review they can fairly see both sides.

    1. Firstly, you have left a review of the pro version of the plugin, however this forum is for the free version of the plugin, they are completely different builds with different features, different support; there’s no common code between the two plugins. So you have left a review of the wrong plugin. So because of this, I will flag this with the forum moderators.
    2. You purchased the pro version of the plugin and you raised an issue with me. Within 24 hours, I provided a solution to the issue. However you chose not to accept the solution which was a perfectly good solution and I even tested it on my end and it worked fine. You then provided no further issues.
    3. You said in your review “This module has serious limitation” however you did not elaborate on what this serious limitation is – I am sure others would be keen to know this, I know I would like to know about this. We have over 20,000 users of the plugin and none have stumbled across this serious limitation.

    I have already responded to you thoroughly via email so I am not going to reply to any further comments you make because I don’t wish to have a public argument with you. I have offered you multiple times assistance should you need it, but every time you have rejected this assistance. I wish you the best of luck and if you need any assistance, please email me.

    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Forum Moderator and Brute Squad

    1. Firstly, you have left a review of the pro version of the plugin, however this forum is for the free version of the plugin, they are completely different builds with different features, different support; there’s no common code between the two plugins. So you have left a review of the wrong plugin. So because of this, I will flag this with the forum moderators.

    @northernbeacheswebsites You’d be wrong too. You cannot under any circumstances support the pro version here on this site. But this is not a review of the wrong plugin. You use this site to upsell the pro version so you invited this review. Don’t report this again, it’s a valid review.

    This is the whole review.

    Avoid

    The guy didn’t wanted refund the purchase, and had no reason for that. This module has serious limitation, which wasn’t clearly explained in documentation. I used [ redacted ] which is much more flexible and much more advanced.
    Not recommended!

    That is legit though I have removed the recommendation for another plugin.

    Plugin Author Northern Beaches Websites

    (@northernbeacheswebsites)

    Hi @jdembowski,

    I don’t want to support the pro version of my plugin on WordPress.org (and I never have), it just seems strange I can’t provide support of the pro version on the forum but you forum moderators are more then happy to have reviews of my pro version on the forum. Do you see how this is a little confusing for a developer like me?

    What I am saying is, make it clear, clearly separate free and pro. If you don’t enable me to sell plugins on WordPress.org, and don’t allow me to provide support on WordPress.org (which is perfectly reasonable and understandable), then why have reviews of my pro version on WordPress.org? Reviews of a pro version of my plugin, which I mentioned in my reply is a completely different codebase to the free version, would not be helpful to someone who wants to use the free version of the plugin. Reviews of the pro version of my plugin should be made on my site, that way people can see the worthiness of the free and pro version separately. Thank you.

    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Forum Moderator and Brute Squad

    tl;dr If this remains a problem for you then contact the Plugins Team and they can explain how you can self-service the closure of your plugins on this site. That will prevent new reviews such as this one from being submitted.

    This review will not be removed and this repeat conversation with you is being reported to the plugins team.

    Longer version below.

    I don’t want to support the pro version of my plugin on WordPress.org (and I never have)

    That’s good.

    Do you see how this is a little confusing for a developer like me?

    Not at all. It’s clear, it’s always been clear. This really is not hard to get and you already know this.

    Don’t mistake what you personally dislike as unclear. You’ve reported reviews before and this conversation is not at all new to you.

    1. You can and do upsell your “pro” verison. That’s fine and we all hope you are successful.
    2. You cannot support any customers, pre-sales or refund topics on this site. If you see one then ping a moderator and the topic will be closed with a reply. That is not unclear and never has been.
    3. Reviews for that upsell are part of the experience and again, always has been.

    You use the plugin page here as an advert.

    https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-custom-admin-interface/

    That’s not a question and I know you do not dispute that. You can’t do that without expecting someone going “pro” and getting feedback for that experience too.

    Even if you were not using that page as an advert, if your plugin did that in the user’s dashboard in anyway then you’d still be inviting this review.

    This remains a problem for you going back years. You really should consider removing your plugins from this site. These reviews will keep happening and you need to deal with that better than you have.

    Plugin Author Northern Beaches Websites

    (@northernbeacheswebsites)

    Hi @jdembowski,

    I respectably disagree with how WordPress handles this and I have lodged a complaint previously about it, but it fell on deaf ears unfortunately on Slack. I was hoping you had reformed how you do things. However I will follow the rules begrudgingly going forward so you don’t have to be concerned about this being raised again.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this review.