It has happened again, as it always seem to do, Automatic Upgrade of 3.1.3 overwrites customized files, seemingly theme files too even though I don’t see .css listed for upgrade.
This is a feedback/request.
By default Automatic Upgrade should not just overwrite customized files. It should stop, notify the user which files are to be overwritten and at the very least automatically back up … or give the option to automatically back up old files.
Yah-yah-yah … I know … some smartass will pop up next and snigger “you should have backup-ed your files”.
That is not the point. I did it to see what would happen this time and it still does the same. No warning, no backup (even though it could easily and may well do cache file). As I say, I did not look at it closely but I looked to see if the upgrade included theme files and it did not … and yet the default theme was changed without warning and against my will.
This is wrong action and lacking in foresight.
Perhaps it is too much to expect WordPress to offer the script that something like phpBB3 does – which checks, shows diffs and conflicts, and automatically upgrades where the user chooses – but, surely, as the very least courtesy, we should offer a back up/roll back option by default?
- The topic ‘Automatic Upgrade Should Not Overwrite Customized Files’ is closed to new replies.