admin icons not displaying after 3.8 upgrade (2 posts)

  1. NormanBird
    Posted 1 year ago #

    So I have a site that after the upgrade to 3.8 is displaying weird characters in dashboard and editor where thee should be icons. as per the screenshot on the link below.

    I know the upgrade altered the icons. Most of my sites are fine but this one site has the issues. Anyone seen this before or have any idea how to fix?

  2. Tara
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Have you tried:
    - deactivating ALL plugins temporarily to see if this resolves the problem. If this works, re-activate them individually (one-by-one) to find the problematic plugin(s). If you can't get into your admin dashboard, try deactivating via FTP or SFTP or whatever file management application your host provides. If applicable, also remember to deactivate any plugins in the mu-plugins folder. The easiest way is to rename that folder to mu-plugins-old.
    - switching to the unedited default, core-bundled Theme (such as Twenty Twelve, Twenty Thirteen or Twenty Fourteen) for a moment using the WP dashboard to rule out any theme-specific issue. If you don't have access to your admin area, you can switch to the default theme by renaming your current theme's folder in wp-content/themes and adding "-old" to the end of the folder name using via FTP or SFTP or whatever file management application your host provides. Alternately, you can remove other themes except the default theme. That will force your site to use it.
    - resetting the plugins folder by FTP or PhpMyAdmin. Sometimes, an apparently inactive plugin can still cause problems (because the hooks remain unless plugins completely removed or some plugins stick around in cached files. So by renaming the folder, you break them and force them inactive).
    - If the above troubleshooting steps fail to resolve the issue, try manually re-uploading all files and folders EXCEPT the wp-config.php file and the /wp-content/ directory from a fresh download of WordPress. Make sure that you delete the old copies of files & folder before uploading the new ones. Read the Manual Update directions first!

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic